Barnes Bunch

 

At a Glance

 

Thomas Barnes 1360-1440- 15th great-grandfather of Linda

John Bowsey Barnes 1416-1465

John Barnes 1448-1486

William Barnes 1486-1558

Richard Barnes-  Bishop of Nottingham 1532-1589

Richard Barnes 1549-1605

George Barnes 1591-1650

Thomas Barnes 1636-1679

John “Deacon” Barnes Sr 1666-1752

Jonathan Barnes 1703-1783

William Barnes 1753-1773

William Barnes 1773-1860

Nathan Parker Barnes 1801-1870

John Benton Barnes 1846-1922

Ida May Barnes 1870-1936

Edith Eugenia Whitaker 1900-1990

Paul Burton Meeker 1922-

Linda Lee Meeker 1952-

 

The earliest we can find is Thomas Barnes who was born in 1360 and died in 1440 but we have no other information on him except he had a son John 

 

John Bowsey Barnes was born 1416 Writtle, Chelmsford Borough, Essex, England and married Margaret Deol (1424-June 1, 1470) in 1442. They are the parents of Sir John Barnes, Baron; Sir William Barnes and Margaret Bowley. He died in 1465

 

When John Barnes was born in 1448 in Writtle, Essex, England and died in 1486 in his hometown. When born, his mother Lady Margaret, was 24 and his father was 32. He had one son (William) with Constance Pakenham (1464-1530) in 1480. 

 

William Barnes was born in 1486 in Essex, England. His father, John, was 38 and his mother, Constance, was 22. He married Dorothy Hansard (1496-1548) in Eastwood, Herefordshire, England. They had six children in 28 years. George Barnes 1504–1590, Alice Ales Barnes 1507–1557 Thomas Barnes I 1524–1574, Sir William Alderly 1532–1559 Richard 1532–1589, Geoffrey Edward Barnes

William died on February 24, 1558, in his hometown at the age of 72.

 

Richard Barnes was born in 1532 at All Hallows, Honey Lane, London, England. He married Jona Lee on February 3, 1547 in Kirkham, Lancashire, England. She died in 1549 after having son Richard Jr. 

He married Fredesmund Gifford in the 1560s and then was appointed as Bishop of Nottingham in 1567 and later, in 1570, was appointed Bishop of Carlisle. He died on August 24, 1587 at Honey Lane, London, England.

 

Richard Barnes (1549-1605) Born November 10, 1549 at Kirkham, Lancashire, England and died abt 1605 Manchester Cathedral, Lancashire, England

He was baptized in Lancashire: Kirkham – Parish Register on November 10, 1549 and married Elizabeth Battersby (1564-1604) on September 8, 1589 in  Manchester Cathedral, Lancashire, England. 

Their children included: George Thomas (1591-1650) Margery (1592-) 

Elizabeth (1593-) Richard (1600-1632) George (1604-1650)

 

George Barnes was born in 1591 in Manchester, Lancashire, England and died in 1650 at Bridekirk, Isle of Man, England. He married Jeneta Key on December 1,1629 in Bridekirk,Cumberland,England.

They had two children which were: Thomas Berance (1636-1679) and Anna (1641-)

 

CAME TO THE UNITED STATES

 

Thomas Barence Barnes who was born on October 18, 1636 in Barking, Essex, England. He came to the United States in 1656 on the Speedwell ship. 

On July 21, 1662 he married Abigail Goodenow in Marlborough, MA.

They had the following children:

  1. Thomas Barnes, born on March 23, 1662 and he married Mary Howe in Marlborough on April 14, 1685
  2. Dorothy Barnes born on February 6. 1664
  3. John Barnes born in Marlborough on December 25, 1666
  4. William Barnes born on April 3,  1669
  5. Abigail Barnes, born on June 14, 1671
  6. Theophilus Barnes, born on February 10, 1673 died in February 1675
  7. Susanna Barnes- she married Supply Weeks in Marlborough on June 4, 1699 She died in Marlborough on January 15, 1711

 

He died on July 2, 1679 in Marlborough, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, USA.

More on Thomas B. Barnes: 

 

Thomas Barnes came to America on the Speedwell, sailing from Gravesend about 20 May 1656 and landing in Boston, MA on 27 Jun 1656 in company with Shadrack Hapgood, John Fay, Nathaniel Goodnow and Thomas Goodnow, whose daughter Abigail he married.  He bought land (8 acres) from Johnathan Johnson in 1663. His house and goods were burned by Indians during the destruction of Marlborough, Massachusetts in 1676 in King Philip’s War. He temporarily moved to Concord, Massachusetts. This is where his youngest child Susanna was born.  Upon returning to Marlborough, he bought land in the old Indian Plantation, Ockoocangansett. Thomas was active in community affairs, as evidenced by his name on numerous petitions and public documents. He first bought land in the then newly formed town, Marlborough in 1662 and received additional land grants later.

He enlisted in the Pequot War in Capt. Mason’s Unit #1635 at Hartford, Hartford County, CT.

 

John “Deacon” Barnes was born on December 25, 1666 in Marlboro, Middlesex, Massachusetts and died on April 5, 1752 in his hometown. 

He married Hannah Howe in 1695 in Marlboro, MA and they had the following children:  Abigail (1695-1741) Dorothy (1698-1734) 

Daniel (1701-1775) Jonathan (1703-1783) 

Hannah (1712-1789) John (1716-)

 

Jonathan Barnes was born in Marlboro,Massachusettsand died there on November 26, 1703. He married Rachel Hosmer on January 21, 1735, in Massachusetts. They had nine children in 18 years. 

  1. Silas was born on January 21, 1735
  2. Elisha was born on October 28, 1736- died June 7, 1740
  3. Fortunatus was born on September 25, 1738
  4. Rachel was born on July 13, 1740
  5. Lucy was born on July 7, 1742
  6. Dorothy was born on December 18, 1747
  7. Jonathan was born on November 6, 1749
  8. David was born on September 2, 1751- died January 28, 1756
  9. William was born on March 21, 1753

 

William Barnes was born on March 21, 1753, in Marlborough, Massachusetts. His father, Jonathan, was 49 and his mother, Rachel, was 39. He married Sarah Merriam on March 22, 1773. In almost three months of marriage they conceived one child (William, Jr.)

William Sr. died as a young father on June 18, 1773, in his hometown.

 

William Barnes Jr. was born in November 1773 at Marlborough, Middlesex, Massachusetts. He married Abigail Parker in 1795 and their son Nathan was born in 1801. Abigail died October 19, 1809.

William married Mary Kimball in 1839. He died January 11, 1860 in Hillsboro, Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

 

Nathaniel Parker Barnes was born in Hillsborough, NH on June 13, 1801 and died in Bunker Hill, Illinois on November 20, 1870. 

He married Sarah E “Sally” Evans on November 29, 1827. They had one child, John Benton Barnes,  during their marriage. Nathaniel died on November 20, 1870, in Bunker Hill, Illinois, at the age of 69.

 

John Benton Barnes was born on October 3, 1846, in Greenfield, New Hampshire. His father Nathan was 45 and his mother Sally was 40 at his birth. He was married three times and had one daughter. 

He married Pauline Amelia Goehring (1838–1917) on November 21, 1859 in Bunker Hill, Illinois and had no children. John married Matilda Lancaster in St Louis, Missouri, on April 15, 1869.

Then he married 19 year-old Mary Lucetta Smith in 1870 and they had one daughter, Ida May Barnes, on March 30, 1870. JB Barnes died on March 23, 1922, in Forest City, Illinois, at the age of 75, and was buried there.

 

Ida May Barnes was born on March 30, 1870, in Forest City, Illinois, her father, John, was 23, and her mother, Mary, was 18. She married James Buchanan Whitaker on January 1, 1893, in Mason County, Illinois. They had four children: John Floyd, Nelda E.,Edith Eugenia, James Leslie

Ida Mary (Barnes) Whitaker died on October 2, 1936, in Forest City, Illinois at the age of 66.

 

Edith Eugenia Meeker (1900-1990) married Sam Meeker (can be found in Meeker Family article) They had four sons: Paul, Clyde, Loren, Lyle

 

Paul Meeker (born 1922) married Donna Callaway (see Callaway article) and they had seven children: Linda, Jan, Carl, Ruth, Ross, Roger, Cari

 

This bring us to the current present day Linda (Meeker) Knuppel- She married Thomas Lee Knuppel on October 6, 1973.

Their children: Ryan, Rodney, Rhett, Randy

 

This is the direct line for Linda as we start with her mother and is the most current ancestor to the furthest. 

 

This interesting and unusual medieval English surname is of Norman French origin, and is locational from a place called “Caillovet-Orgeville” in Eure, France, and is derived from the Old Norman French “cail(ou)” for a pebble.

 

When Donna Lee Callaway was born on January 9, 1935, her father, Elmor Clyde, was 45, and her mother, Bertha, was 30. She married Paul B. Meeker on January 11, 1952.    Their children: Linda Lee, Jan Louise, Carl Burton, Ruth Ann, Ross Alan, Roger Alan, Cari Beth

 

When Elmore Clyde Callaway was born on January 10, 1890, in Tazewell, Illinois and his father, Louis, was 18 and his mother, Sarah, was 18. He married Bertha Hughes on August 4, 1923. 

   Children: Glen, Shirley, Jean, Donna, Clyde, Judy, Gary

  • He died on April 4, 1949 in Spring Lake, Illinois, at the age of 59. (GF)

 

Louis “Frank” Franklin Callaway was born in 1862, his father, William, was 36 and his mother, Ruth, was 28. He married Sarah Emmons and their children were Henry Melvin (1872-1954), Birdie (1881-), Clara (1884-) , Roy Blaire (1888-1953) , Elmor Clyde (1890-1949)

  • He died on July 24, 1932, in Tazewell, Illinois, at the age of 70. (GGF)

 

When William Ira Callaway was born on February 2, 1826, in Campbell, Virginia, his father, Josiah, was 19 and his mother, Lettice, was 18. He married Ruth Ann Lowry in 1852 (1834-1879).

Their children: Sirrilda Sinthealy (1854-1881) , Sarah Isabell (1856-1921) , Rhoda Jane (1858-1940), Lucetta (1860-1932) , Lewis Frank (1862-1932) , William Ira (1866-1866) , Fannie (1868-1889) , Henry Melvin (1872-1954)

  • He died on September 19, 1879, in Spring Lake, Illinois, at the age of 53.  (2GGF)

 

When Josiah Isaiah Callaway was born on December 5, 1806, in Giles, Virginia, his father, Elijah, was 26 and his mother, Elizabeth, was 22. He married Lettice Blankenship In 1825.

Children: William Ira (1826-1879) , Benjamin Franklin (1827-) ,Washington Elijah (1829-1897), Nancy Jane (1833-1880) , Josiah D (1836-1857) 

Children with Susannah Quick:  Charles W (1840-). Mary Isabel (1840-), Moses (1844-), Catherine (1845-) , Elizabeth (1847-1872)

  • He died on April 12, 1849, in Clark, Illinois, at the age of 42. (3GGF)

 

Elijah Washington Callaway was born in 1780 in Lewes, Delaware, his father, Isaiah, was 26 and his mother, Sarah, was 21. He married Elizabeth Whitford.

Children: Jeremiah (1805-1806), Josiah Isaiah (1806-1849), Male (1807-1808), Jeremiah (1809-) George Washington (1810-1893), Sarah (1813-1874), Nancy (1815-1850), Christopher (1816-1860), Esquire (1819-), Susan (1820-), William Burl (1824-1894), Elizabeth (1828-1850) Nancy (1828-1850), Archibald (1830-1901), Jeremiah C (1831-1883)

  • He died in 1832 in Edgar, Illinois, at the age of 52. (4GGF)

 

When Isaiah Callaway was born in 1754 in Lewes, Delaware, his father, William, was 42 and his mother, Margaret, was 39. He married Sarah Saunders on September 30, 1775, in his hometown. They had one child during their marriage. 

  • He died in 1813 in Giles, Virginia, at the age of 59, and was buried in Summers, West Virginia. (5GGF)

 

When William Callaway was born in 1712, his father, William, Sr. was 25 and his mother, Given, was 22. He married Margaret Moore/Moor on December 1, 1734, in Somerset, Maryland. Later, in 1752, he married Elizabeth Crawley. 

Children with Margaret: Mary, Martha (1730-1782), Jane (1735-1750), Margaret (1737-1791) 

Matthew (1737-1790), William (1739-1754), Zachariah (1745-1816),Elizabeth (1745-1787) 

Isaiah (1754-1815), Jonathan (1760-1834), Obediah (1762-1800), Peggy (1763-1791) 

Elizabeth (1767-1840), Abraham (1773-), William S. (1776-1860)

Children with Elizabeth Crawley: Amelia (1753-1773), Charles (1754-1827)

  • He died in 1758 in Maryland at the age of 46. (6GGF)

 

When Col.William Callaway was born on March 14, 1688, in Somerset, Maryland, his father, Peter, was 48 and his mother, Elizabeth, was 56. He married Given Caldwell in 1708 in his hometown. Children: John (1710-1781), William (1715-1784), Jane (1716-1747), Daughter (1722-1722), Elizabeth (1724-1758), Moses (1725-1759), Benjamin (1728-1783), Matthew (1732-1790)

  • He died on January 20, 1758, in Somerset, Maryland, at the age of 70. (7GGF)

 

When Peter Callaway was born in 1639 in Yorkshire, England, his father, Edmund, was 19 and his mother, Catherine, was 15. He married Elizabeth Ann Mamie Johnson on March 26, 1667, in Somerset, Maryland. Children included: Sarah (1676-1732), 

Anne (1678-), Peter (1681-1739), John (1685-1770), Jane (1685-1769) 

William (1688-1758)

 Some researchers believe his home was in Yorkshire. He sold himself into bondage in 1649 to William Pressley in order to pay for his passage to the new world. Peter Callaway arrived in Northumberland County, Virginia in 1649 and served out his seven years as a bonded servant. There is plenty more to write on this young man!

  • He died in 1719 in Somerset, Maryland, having lived a long life of 80 years. (8GGF)

 

When Edmund Callaway was born in 1620 in Cornwall, England, his father, Joshua, was 25 and his mother, Elizabeth, was 21. He married Catherine Elizabeth Windley in 1631 in England. 

He was a tobacco farmer. Children: Francis (1647-1700), Peter (1649-1719), Joseph (1650-1735) 

William (1650-)

  • He died in May 1719 in Somerset, Maryland, at the impressive age of 99. (9GGF)

 

“Henry” (Joshua William) Callaway was born on March 10, 1595, in Cornwall, England, the son of Monjoy and Patrick. He married Elizabeth Stepney (1599-1642) in 1618 and their children were: Thomas (1618-1687), Edmund (1620-1719), Mary Milner (1627-)

  • He died in 1642 in Charles City, Virginia, at the age of 47. (10GGF)

 

When Patrick Call-Calloway was born in 1570 in Scotland, his father, Richardius, was 36 and his mother, Mary, was 31. He had one son (Joshua William) with Monjoy Curror in 1595. 

  • He died in 1627 in Amherst, Virginia, at the age of 57. (11GGF)

 

Richardius Call-Calloway was born in 1534 in Westbury, Wiltshire, England. He had two sons with Mary Carlton which were  Joshua (1558-1627), Patrick (1570-1627)

  • He died in 1611 in Scotland having lived a long life of 77 years. (12GGF)

Whitaker Brood

 

The surname Whiteaker belongs to the large category of Anglo-Saxon habitation names, which are derived from pre-existing names for towns, villages, parishes, or farmsteads. The surname Whiteaker was first found in Warwickshire where the first record of the name was Johias Whitacre (1042-1066), who died while fighting at the Battle of Hastings on the side of King Harold. Despite the fact he was on the losing side of the battle, his family were permitted to keep their estates there. The place names Whitacre, Over Whitacre and Nether Whitacre were listed in the Domesday Book as Witacre and literally meant “white cultivated land.” One of the earliest rolls was the Hundredorum Rolls of 1273. Those rolls listed: Alan Witacur in Oxfordshire; and Richard de Whitacre in Northamptonshire. Years later, the Yorkshire Poll Tax Rolls of 1379 listed: Henricus Wyteacre; Willelmus de Wetaker; and Rogerus Whitteacres. “The Whittakers or Whitakers are numerous in Lancashire. From the 14th to the 16th century a gentle family of this name lived at High Whitaker or Whitacre in the vills of Simonstone and Padiham, in the parish of Whalley: the Whitakers of Holme and those of Henthorn branched off in the 15th century and those of Healy about 1620.

Here we go. The early entries have little or no information. the words in parentheses (25GGF) designates what relationship they are to Linda (Meeker) Knuppel.

 

(25GGF) Johias Whitaker (1042 – 1066)

(24GGF). Edwinus Whitaker (1060 – 1087)

(23GGF)  Sir Simon Whitaker (1080 – 1135) Knighted in 1100

(22GGF) Alanus Whitaker (1133 -1227)

(21GGF) Sir Jordan Whitaker (1200 – 1275) Knighted; married Phillipa Astleymil

(20GGF) Sir John Whitaker (1240-1331) Knighted in 1262; MAGNA CARTA confirmer

(19GGF) Sir John Whitaker (1275 -1330) married in 1316 to Amica Marmion

(18GGF) Sir Richard Whitaker (1300 -1375) Knighted by Edward III in 1327;  married Joan Culi

Notes on Sir Richard- Sir Richard de Whitacre (circa 1300-1375) was the Lord of the Manors of Nether Whitacre, Over Whitacre, Elmdon, and Freasley. He was the son of Sir John de Whitacre and Amica de Marmion and grandson of Sir John de Whitacre, a confirmer of the Magna Carta. His principal seat was at Whitacre Hall, a Medieval fortified manor house in Nether Whitacre.His family, being of Anglo-Saxon descent, were of the very few who were allowed to keep their lands after the Norman Conquest. In fact, his ancestor Johias Whitacre (1042-1066) died while fighting at the Battle of Hastings on the side of King Harold. Nevertheless, this family was allowed to keep their lands in Warwickshire and continued to rise to prominence throughout the Medieval period.Sir Richard was knighted by King Edward III in 1327. He fought in the King’s personal retinue during the English victories at Calais and Crecy during the Hundred Years’ War. For this, it is believed that he received lands in Padiham, Lancashire, where his descendants would eventually move to, settling at The Holme. He was a vassal of the Baron Tamworth, then in the Marmion family of which his mother was a part, who were lords of Tamworth Castle where Sir Richard is known to have fulfilled many of his Knight-services. It is also likely that he at times served the Earl of Warwick, although no records of this are in existence.Sir Richard is documented as having a few legal issues. In one case, after banding together with a group of about six relatives, he assaulted a rival family member from a nearby parish and caused him physical harm. When the lawyer who would be representing the prosecution traveled through Nether Whitacre, he was imprisoned, supposedly at Whitacre Hall, until after the trial was over. In another case, Sir Richard sued, successfully, a church for lands he felt he was entitled to. After marrying Joan Culi, he produced a few heirs, one of which, Sir Simon de Whitacre, would succeed him. He is thought to have died around 1375. It is not known where his final resting place is; however, the local church of St. Giles is the most likely place.

 

(17GGF) Sir Richard Whitaker (1380–1434) born and died at Symonston Hall, Lancashire, England.

(16GGF) Thomas Henry Whitaker (1405-1448) born and died at Symonstone Hall, Clivinger Burnley, Lancashire, England. He married Lady Elizabeth of Burnley in 1430. They had one son, Robert, born in 1440.

(15GGF) Robert Whitaker was born in 1440 in Lancashire, England and died abt 1531 in Yorkshire, England. He married Mary Greenwood (1440-1531) in 1458 and they had one child, Thomas Cromwell Whitaker, born in 1458. 

(14GGF) Thomas Cromwell Whitaker was born 1458 Simonstone Hall, Lancashire, England and died in 1529 at Simonstone Hall, Lancashire, England. He married Joanna Pritchard in 1480 and they had 13 children. He then married Mary Greenwood and they had one son in 1523. 

(13GGF) Richard Thomas Whitaker was born in 1480 in Burnley England and died in 1540. He married Margaret N. Wellascotts (1480-1545) in 1503 and they had four children: Thomas (1504-1598) ,Sir Henry (1506-1599). Margaret (1525-1567) and Sir Thomas Laurence lll (1528-1582).

(12GGF) When Thomas Whitaker was born on September 22, 1504, in Holme, Lancashire, England, his father, Richard, was 24 and his mother, Margaret, was 24. He married Elizabeth Nowell and they had eight children together: Richard Whitaker 1545–1597 Robert Whitaker Of Holme 1545–1581 William Whitaker 1548–1595   William A. “Rev Doctor Divinity” (Whittekers) (1548-1595) Frances Whitaker 1594–1687 Joseph Whitaker –1726 Willm. Whitaker –1738 Thos Dobson –1799

(11GGF) William A. “Rev Doctor Divinity” Whitaker was born in December 1548 in Lancashire, Lancashire, England. He married Susan Culverwell and they had 15 children together. He then married Lady Joane Paronite Fenner and they had one son together. He died on December 4, 1595, in Whalley, Lancashire, England, at the age of 47.

He was a prominent Protestant Calvinistic Anglican churchman, academic, and theologian. He was Master of St. John’s College, Cambridge, and a leading divine in the university in the latter half of the sixteenth century. His uncle was Alexander Nowell, the Dean of St. Paul’s Cathedral and catechist. He wrote over 20 theology books. 

NOTES: Robert Whitaker, an uncle, left an annuity of 40 lbs to his nephew, William Whitaker, then A.B., scholar of Trinity College, Cambridge. The will was attested by William Cecil, later Lord
Burleigh. The master of Trinity College was the Rev. Whitgift (afterwards Archbishop of Canterbury), who singled William out for special favors, because of William’s indefatigable study of scriptures, the commentators, and the schoolmen. William was regarded as an authority in both Latin and Greek. He took his B.A. in 1567-8, was made a Fellow of Trinity in 1569, and took his
B.D. at Trinity in 1578. He was ordained priest and deacon at Lincoln, 21 Dec 1576; was appointed University Preacher in 1577; and invested with the Prebendary of Norwich in 1578, in which year he was also “incorporated” at Oxford University.
In 1580, through the influence of the Nowells and Lord Burleigh, Queen Elizabeth appointed William A. Whitaker “Regius Professor of Divinity” at Cambridge University. At the time, there were only three Regius Professors in all of England, and only one in Divinity. Shortly afterwards, the Queen also made William A. Whitaker Chancellor of St. Paul’s Cathedral, 1580-1587. In 1587, also, he was awarded the degree of Doctor of Divinity.
In 1586, Queen Elizabeth appointed him Master of St. John’s College, Cambridge, over the protests of some of the Fellows who objected to William’s Calvinistic Puritanism. William had gained his position through influence and patronage, but his administration was based wholly upon merit, scholarship, ability. His judgements were regarded as fair, just, and impartial, which soon made him one of the most loved of Masters. In his History of the College of St. John the Evangelist, Cambridge (1869), Thomas Baker is almost unbounded in his praise for William Whitaker as one of the greatest Masters of all time. William held the post for eight years, until his death in December, 1595.
In 1573, 1574, 1578, and again in 1583, William published Greek translations of Latin verses by his uncle, Alexander Nowell, who was for some forty years Dean of St. Paul’s Cathedral in London. These translations were widely regarded for their grace and beauty. William published several major works of theology in his lifetime and leftnseveral others in manuscript. His works are all extremely Puritan in argument and tone, he being an ardent follower of Calvin and Deza. Still, he came to be respected as the foremost theologian in the time of Queen Elizabeth.
In 1581, he published a bi-lingual (Latin and Greek) “Ten Answers to Edmund Campion, the Jesuit.” An English translation (?with the Latin on
facing pages) was published in London in 1606, by Richard Stock. His works are strongly anti-Catholic, for he regarded the church in Rome as the devil’s work, so to speak. In 1582, William published “The Pope of Rome is the Antichrist.” Over the years, he published learned disputes over scriptures with John Durei, the Scottish Jesuit (1583), Robert Bellarmine (1588), and Thomas Stapleton (1588).
In all these arguments, William was said to have stated the opposition’s position fairly, with clarity, and then offered his counter-arguments with such logic and force, that even his opponents respected his abilities and arguments. Some of his opponents are said to have hung his portrait on their walls as a gesture of admiration and honor. In November and December of 1595, he was working with others in London on the so-called Lambeth Articles. In drafty carriages, in inclement weather, he caught a cold, which worsened with exhaustion, and he died 4 Dec 1595.

 

(10GGF) William Whitaker was born in 1582 in Holme, Lancashire, England. He had two sons and two daughters with Katherine Deane. He then married Mary Liversidge and they had five children together: Robert, Maria, Isabell, Jeremiah and Jane.

He died in 1638 in Holme, Huntingdonshire, England, at the age of 56.

(9GGF) Jeremiah Whitaker was born in 1599 in Wakefield, England and died in 1654 in London. He married Chephizibah Peachy in 1629 and they had five children: William, Mary, Jeremiah, Richard and John.

He was an English Puritan clergyman, and an important member of the Westminster Assembly. After being educated at the grammar school there under the Rev. Philip Jack, he entered Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, as a sizar in 1615, two years before Oliver Cromwell. In 1619 he graduated in arts, and for a time was a schoolmaster at Oakham, Rutland.

In 1630 he was made rector of Stretton, Rutland; and on the ejection of Thomas Paske from the rectory of St Mary Magdalen, Bermondsey, in 1644, Whitaker was chosen in his stead. He was an oriental scholar, and preached, when in London, four times a week. When the Westminster Assembly was convened in June 1643, he was one of the first members elected, and in 1647 was appointed its moderator. In the same year he was chosen by the House of Lords, along with Thomas Goodwin, to examine and superintend the assembly’s publications

Whitaker died on 1 June 1654, and was buried in the chancel of St Mary Magdalen. 

 

CAME TO AMERICA

 

(8GGF) Richard Whitaker was born in London in 1644 and came to the United States where he died in 1710 in Fairfield, New Jersey. He married Elizabeth Adkins Provoe in 1680 and they had six children. Abigail (1680-1718) Richard (1680-1720) Nathaniel (1681-1753) Peter (1683-) James (1689-1720) Katharine (1694-1718).

(7GGF) Richard Whitaker II (1680-1720) was born in 1680 in Fairfield, New Jersey. He married Abigail Hammond in 1700 in his hometown.They had four children: Nathaniel (1696-1752) Richard (1700-1759) Thomas (1702-1779)  Catherine (1704-) Elizabeth (1704-) James (1708-) Richard Whitaker II died on January 12, 1720, in Fairfield, New Jersey, at the age of 40.

(6GGF) Nathaniel Whitaker was born in 1694 in Fairfield, New Jersey when his father, Richard, was 14 and his mother, Abigail, was 18. He married Mary Ann Abbott Dixon on 18 Nov 1729 in Fairfield, Cumberland, New Jersey, United States. He then married Ruth Buck (1719-1752) on September 13, 1738, in New Jersey.  He died on December 13, 1752, in his hometown at the age of 58.

(5GGF) Lewis W Whitaker was born in 1734 and married Anna Thompson (1737-1810) in 1753. They had three children: Lydia (1760-1830) Lewis (1764-1830)  Lemuel (1772-1849) Lewis died in 1773 at the age of 39. Anna Thompson was born on April 27, 1737, in Fairfield, New Jersey. She died in 1810 in her hometown at the age of 73.

(4GGF) Lemuel Whitaker was born on June 21, 1772, in Fairfield, New Jersey when his father, Lewis, was 38 and his mother, Anna, was 35. He married Ruth Barker on April 12, 1791, in his hometown. According to the 1810 Ohio Census, his first name was Leminnie. In subsequent Ohio census (1820, 1830,1840), he was listed as Lemuel. In 1805 he married Jannette Buchanan.

  • Children with Ruth: Harriet (1798-1881) Reuben Barker (1800-1868)
  • Children with Janette: Fanny A. (1806-1813)  Israel (1808-1880) Samuel P (1810-1886) Ruth J (1812-1880)  James Buchanan (1813-1893) Neri (1816-1890) Sarah (1818-1890) William B (1818-1890)  Lewis (1820-1890) 

 He died on January 13, 1849, in Brush Creek, Ohio, having lived a long life of 76 years.

 

Reuben W (3GGF) Reuben Barker Whitaker was born in New Jersey on 8 Jan 1800. He married Frances (Fanny) Martin and their children were: David (1823-1850)  Lemuel (1824-1895) John Buchanan (1826-1872) Milton (1828-1863) Annis (1834-1913) Lewis (1838-1890) 

He married Margaret Hannah Smith (1813-1881) in 1853 and their children were: Adelia Mary (1854-1929)  Beth Ann (1858-1941) Ruth A (1858-) Seth (1868-)

He passed away on April 11, 1868 in Jefferson, Coshocton, Ohio, United States.

 

The Move to Illinois

 

(2GGF) John Buchanan Whitaker was born on May 13, 1826, in Muskingum, Ohio. He married Louisa Catherine Cheek. Their children: Henry Edward (1858-1923) Mary Ella Ellen (1861-1936) James Buchanan (1864-1952) William (1864-) Reuben S (1871-) He died on June 8, 1872, in Forest City, Illinois, at the age of 46.

(GGF) James Buchanan Whitaker was born July 16, 1864 in Forest City, Illinois. He married Ida May Barnes on January 1, 1893, in Mason, Illinois. Their four children were (John) Floyd (1894-1977) Nelda E (1897-1987) Edith Eugenia (1900-1990) (James) Leslie (1904-1962)  James B died in 1952 in his hometown at the age of 88.

(GM) Edith Eugenia (Whitaker) Meeker was born in 1900 and attended school in the Manito/Forest City area. She married Sam Meeker October 6, 1920. She supported her husband in his farming endeavor and was a loving and devoted wife and mother. They had four children.  (Paul, Clyde, Loren, Lyle) . Edith died of natural causes in 1990 and her husband Sam died a few hours later of the same thing (broken heart?).

 

In a Nutshell:

 

Johias Whitacre 1042-1066   (25th great-grandfather of Linda)

Edwinus Whitaker 1060-1087

Simon Whitaker 1080-1135

Alanus Whitaker 1133-1227

Jordan Whitaker 1200-1275

Sir John Whitaker 1240-1278

John Whitaker 1275-1330

Richard Simon Whitaker 1300-1380

Sir Richard Whitaker 1380-1434

Thomas Henry Whitaker 1405-1448

Robert Whitaker 1440-1531

Sir Thomas Cromwell Whitaker 1458-1529

Richard Thomas Whitaker 1480-1540

Thomas Whitaker 1504-1598

William A. “Rev” Whitaker 1548-1595

William Whitaker DR 1582-1638

Jeremiah Whitaker 1599-1654

Richard Whitaker 1644-1710

Richard Whitaker, II 1680-1720

Nathaniel Whitaker 1694-1752

Lewis W Whitaker 1734-1773

Lemuel Whitaker 1772-1849

Reuben Barker Whitaker 1800-1868

John Buchanan Whitaker 1826-1872

James Buchanan Whitaker 1864-1952

Edith Eugenia Whitaker 1900-1990

Paul Burton Meeker 1922-

Linda Lee Meeker 1952-

 

 

Did you find mistakes? Would you like to add something?

Feel free to contact:

Tom Knuppel Husband of Linda (Meeker) Knuppel

email- [email protected]

(see note at bottom)

 

THE VILLAGE OF BATH.
Bath was laid out in 1836 for John Curtain, who owned the land. It was
surveyed by Abraham Lincoln, Deputy Surveyor of Sangamon County ; and
the plat of the original fifteen blocks, surveyed by the martyred President, is now in the possession of Maj. Gatton, but so defaced that little is to be
learned from the document. The plat was acknowledged before Thomas Moffatt (afterward Judge Moffatt, of Springfield), and recorded by Benjamin Talbot, Recorder of Sangamon County, under date of December 13, 1836. Maj.
Gatton bought out Curtain, and thus became one of the proprietors of the
town. There have been several additions made to the original fifteen blocks of
Bath, among which we may notice those of Dummer & Mahoney, Ross, Gatton, Bunton & Martin, and Ruggles’ Addition.
Mr. Lincoln and his surveying party, during their work at Bath, boarded
with Charley Richardson, who acted as one of the chain-carriers. The following good story is told as having occurred, while the surveyors were domiciled
at Mr. Richardson’s. A party of sportsmen from Schuyler County came over on a hunt, and, as the hotels were all full at the time (with Sunday-school and
temperance excursionists), they were ”
taken in ” by Mr. Richardson, and provided for as well as the nature of the case would permit. ”
Billy ” Brown, one of the Schuyler County” tads ” (who had partaken bountifully of deer
meat and wild honey), like John on the Isle of Patmos (Richardson lived then on Grand Island) had a vision during the night, in which he saw the world on
fire, an event he seemed desirous to evade. Rising from the soft side of one of
the puncheons of Mr. Richardson’s cabin floor, still half asleep, he looked
through a crack between logs of the wall, and saw the blazing furnace of an Illi- nois River steamer with her prow turned shoreward, near where the cabin
stood. Her shrill whistle, for the purpose of awakening the men at the woodyard, was mistaken by Brown for Gabriel’s trumpet. Dropping upon his knees,
he engaged in fervent prayer, much to the amusement of Mr. Lincoln and the
others of the party. Brown did not hear the last of his devotional exercises
while the hunters remained, and perhaps not for many a day after their return
home.
The first house erected in the present village, deserving the name of dwelling, was built by Maj. Gatton, or rather he had it built. His brother, R. P. Gatton, came up and superintended its erection, and when it was completed
Maj. Gatton moved into it. When his house was erected, there was a little pole cabin standing in the precincts of the present village, which had been built
by a man named Carey. Gatton’s house was of hewed logs, as already noticed
in- the township history, and is still standing.
The first store was opened by Nelms & Gatton in 1842, and soon after them
Col. West began merchandising, and kept the second store in Bath. The first blacksmith is the same as mentioned in the township history. The mercantile
business steadily increased until Bath became a successful competitor of Havana,,
the oldest town in the county.
The first post office was established in 1842, and B. H. Gatton appointed
Postmaster. He carried the mail himself from Havana to Bath for six months,
for which Uncle Sam neglected to pay him, notwithstanding the old gentleman has always been considered good for his debts to his public servants. His
first quarter’s pay as Postmaster amounted to the rousing sum of 43J cents,
principally cash. John S. Wilbourn succeeded Mr. Gatton as Postmaster.
After various changes in this department, TJ. B. Lindsley has succeeded to the
office.Gatton & Ruggles built the first mill in Bath, about 1850-51, at a cost of
about $12,000, which had two run of buhrs. After several years’ operation, it became the property of a man named Robinson, who took out the
machinery and moved it across the river, and the frame was moved down on
the railroad and converted into a grain elevator, which purpose it still serves.- Craggs, noticed among the early settlers, built a saw-mill in the bottom, some
years after the one mentioned above, which was bought by Marshall, and was
afterward moved into the village. O He made several additions to it, changed it 7 O
into a flouring-mill, and finally made a fortune out of it during the war. He
sold it to Cameron & Fletcher. Some years ago, it was burned, and the present
“Bath Mills ”
built. The structure is a substantial frame, with three run of
buhrs, and cost about $6,000. The first tavern was kept by Col. West, in what
is now the Central Hotel, though it has been enlarged and improved since its first occupation as a place of public entertainment. It is now kept by Mr.
Barr, and is the only hotel in the village. Before it was opened by Col.
West, Maj. Gatton used to entertain the wayfaring men who chanced to come
this way.
The grain trade at Bath was, at one time, the most extensive in the county,
except Havana. . The first dealer was Maj. Gatton, who commenced the business very early. He bought grain here for about four years, when J. M.
Ruggles became his partner. This partnership continued at intervals from
1846 to I860. The first was under the firm name of Ruggles & Co., and
extended from 1846 to 1849, when Gatton had a violent attack of gold fever,
sold out and crossed the plains to Califoraia. On his return, business was
resumed with Ruggles, under the firm name of Gatton, Ruggles & Co., when
Gatton took a relapse of the gold fever, and again made an overland trip to California. When he again came back to Illinois, the old partnership was
renewed^ as Gatton & Ruggles. The first elevator was built by Gatton, but
the most of the shipping by him and his firm was by river, in barges and canal
boats. Barges were often loaded at their wharf and shipped direct to New York,
Boston and New Orleans. There are two large grain elevators and grain ware- houses on the railroad, with large storage capacity. Mrs. Simmons now owns
the one built by Gatton. The other is owned by the Havighorst estate. The
grain trade at present is carried on by Gatton,* Low & Foster, of Havana, and
Wilson, Garm & Co., of Beardstown. The latter firm do the largest business,
and ship by the river exclusively, owning their own boats and barges, and will,
eventually (Mr. Gatton says), absorb the entire grain trade of the place.
Before the completion of the Springfield & North- Western Railroad, the businessat this point reached an average of 500,000 bushels annually, but has been
diminishing ever since its completion, owing to the fact that those in the eastern
part of the township, who’ used to come to Bath with their grain, now ship over
that road.

CHURCH AND SCHOOL EDIFICES.
The first church erected in the village of Bath was by the Old School
Presbyterians, in the lower part of the town, assisted by all ”
sects, kindred
and tongues,” with the understanding that it was to be free to all denominations. But no sooner was it finished than the doors were shut against them.
This denomination, however, at no time was very strong, and finally became
almost extinct by removals and death, when the church was sold to the authorities, moved into the public square, and converted into a town hall. The Methodist Church was built soon after the Presbyterian, on a lot donated by Gatton.
for the purpose. It is a frame building, and cost about $1,500. The membership is twenty-five, and Rev. Mr. Lowe is Pastor. A flourishing Sunday
school is maintained, under the superintendence of Warren Heberling. About
sixty-five is the average attendance of the school.
A few years later, the Christian Church was built, at a cost of about $1,500.
It is also a frame building, and was built on lots donated for the purpose by
Gen. Ruggles. The membership is small, and no regular pastor is in attendance. Rev. J. A. Daniels, a local minister of the Baptist denomination, fill* the pulpit occasionally, with now and then a visiting brother of their own
creed from some neighboring diocese. A Sunday school, somewhat limited in
attendance, is carried on, of which Stephen Brown is Superintendent.
The name of the first pedagogue in the village of Bath is not now remembered. The first schoolhouse was the building erected for a Court House,
when -Bath was the seat of justice of the county, and which reverted to the
proprietors of the town when the county seat was moved back to Havana. They
sold the building to the School Boerd, and thus it became a temple of learning
instead of a temple of justice. It was used as a schoolhouse until the erection of the present elegant brick, which stands in the old Court House Square,
and was built in 1872, at a cost of $8,000. It is a handsome structure, and
an ornament to the town. Prof. McKean was Principal for the term just closed,
with Mrs. McKean, Miss Norbury and Mrs. Hudnall as teachers.
Freemasonry and Odd Fellowship, those benevolent organizations that fol- low close in the footsteps of civilization, are represented by flourishing Lodges
* Since this was written, MBJ. Gatton has removed to Missouri and located in Gunn City, Cass County.
in Bath. The Odd Fellows were the first to establish a Lodge here. From
B. F. Rochester, Secretary, we received the following facts in regard to it: “Bath Lodge, No. 125, I. 0. 0. F., was instituted July 29, 1853,
by M. H. L. Schooley, D. G. M., assisted by the following gentlemen,
who represented the Grand Lodge : J. W. Naylor, Grand Marshal ; V. G.
Sims, Grand Secretary ; L. H. Doss, Grand Treasurer ; S. P. Guin, Grand
Warden ; Zachariah Gatton, G. G., and P. 0. Brien, G. C. The charter members were Harvey Oneal, R. P. Gatton, J. J. Taylor, George W. Pettitt, U.
B. Lindsley, G. H. Havighorst and John H. Havighorst. The first officers were : Harvey Oneal, Noble Grand ; J. J. Taylor, Vice Grand ; G. H. Havighorst, Secretary ; R. P. Gatton, Treasurer ; John H. Havighorst, Conductor ; G. W. Pettitt, Warden, and U. B. Lindsley, Inside Guard. A list of 138
signatures are attached to the roll of membership, and, at present, there are 15 active members, among whom is J. A. Burlingame, who was initiated A-ugust
15, 1853, and has ever retained his membership, is a Past Grand, and, we presume, the oldest member of the Order in the county. Within the past five years, the Lodge and its members have contributed nearly $800 for the relief of the members and their families. It owns real estate and lodge-fixtures
Talued at $1,000, and its warrants are regarded as cash. The officers-elect for
the term commencing July 1, 1879, are as follows, viz.: John F. Bond, N. G.;
John L. Ashurst, V. G. ; John M. Martin, Treasurer, and B. F. Rochester,
Secretary. The meetings of the Lodge are on the Monday evenings of each “week.”
Bath Lodge, A., F. & A. Masons, was organized under dispensation in June,
1866, issued by Jerome B. Gorin, Acting Grand Master. The charter members were William W. Turner, Charles Reichman, Charles W. Houghton, John
P. Foland, John H. Johnson, Thomas Webb and J. M. Beesley, of whom
Charles W. Houghton was named in tKe dispensation as Master, Charles Reichman, Senior Warden, and John H. Johnson, Junior Warden. October 3, 1866,
it was chartered as Bath Lodge, No. 494, and its charter signed by Most Worshipful H’. P. H. Bromwell, Grand Master. The first officers elected under
the charter were : Charles W. Houghton, Master ; Charles Reichman, Senior
Warden ; J. C. Wright, Junior Warden ; J. H. Johnson, Treasurer ; J. M.
Beesley, Secretary ; Warren Heberling, Senior Deacon ; T. P. Renshaw, Junior
Deacon, and W. W. Turner, Tiler. The present officers are : Warren Heberling, Master ; J. H. Dierker, Senior Warden ; M. Frank, Junior Warden ; B.
H. Gatton, Treasurer ; J. S. Duncan, Secretary ; G. W. Moore, Senior Deaeon ; J. S. Allen, Junior Deacon, and F. E. Shirtcliff, Tiler, with forty-four
names on the roll of membership. The Lodge is in a flourishing condition,
owns the elegant and handsomely furnished hall in which it meets, and its affairs are conducted by an efficient corps of officers.

THE COUNTY SEAT QUESTION.
It may be interesting to future readers of this authentic history, to know
that Bath was once the capital of Mason County. She not only aspired to that dignity but attained it, and for a period of eight years was the seat of
justice. As pertinent to the subject, we copy the following from the county
map. Speaking of the location of the county seat, it says: “There was much dissatisfaction on the part of the inhabitants of Bath, who, justly or
unjustly, thought that their town offered superior advantages as the seat of justice of Mason County. An agitation of the subject was kept up, and finally an act, approved January 19, 1843, was obtained from the Legislature, authorizing another election to be held on the second Monday of February of that
year. Polls were opened at three places ; at James Walker’s, in Havana, at Lynchburg and at Bath, where votes were received for the towns of Bath ami
Havana for the county seat. Bath received a majority of votes and was
declared the county seat. Its inhabitants soon had the satisfaction of seeing
the archives of the county removed to their town. The June term of the
Circuit Court for 1844 was held at Bath, the previous June term having been
held at “Havana. Entire satisfaction was not yet obtained. Havana still had
aspirations which could only be satisfied by another removal of the seat of justice, and, in February, 1851, legislation was obtained by which another election was held on the second Monday of March, 1851, at which the question was again brought before the people. The clerks of election opened two col- umns, one ‘For Havana,’ and the other ‘Against Removal.’ The election
resulted in again making Havana the county seat, which it has since continued
to be.” Thus Bath lost its hard-earned dignity, was shorn of its fleeting honors, and as a consequence, its “glory departed forever.” This county seat question, however, is more particularly referred to in the county history.
As stated in the above extract, the first session of Circuit Court was held
at Bath, in June, 1844, and, as no building had yet been erected, it was held at the house of Col. West. But a Court House was at once erected by the proprietors of the village. It was a commodious brick structure, two stories high,
with offices on the first floor and the hall of justice above. The building was 36×40 feet, and cost about $3,000. It was built as cheaply as possible, the
brick being manufactured near the spot, and the other material procured at the
lowest figures. When the county seat was moved back to Havana, the building was sold to the village for school purposes, as elsewhere stated.
VILLAGE ORGANIZATION.
The village of Bath was originally incorporated under a special act of the
Legislature, approved February, 1857. The charter was prepared by Gen.
Ruggles with great care, and is said to have been the best and most perfect
instrument of its kind in the State of Illinois. An election was held on the
first Monday in April of the same year, which resulted in the election of J,
M. Ruggles, Harvey Oneal, B. H. Gatton, Samuel Young and Richard Bigsby,
Town Councilmen. The Board organized by electing B. H. Gatton, President;
G. H. Campbell, Clerk and Treasurer; James M. Robinson, Police Magistrate,
and John H. Johnson, Town Constable. It remained under this style of government until 1876, when it was organized under the general law, and the
following Board of Trustees elected, viz.: Warren Heberling, F. S. Cogeshall,
B. H. Gatton, P. Perkins and J. S. Allen. This Board was organized with
B. H. Gatton, President, and L. Carpenter, Clerk and Treasurer. At present
the Board consists of John L. Rochester, J. H. Allen, A. Schaaf, M. Frank,
John R. Horstman and J. H. Daniels. John L. Rochester is President of the
Board; L. Carpenter, Clerk; H. Middlecamp, Treasurer, and G. W. Moorer Police Magistrate.
The cemetery on the southern limits of the village is a beautiful buryingground, inclosed by a handsome fence, and kept in most excellent order. The
first interment in its “silent shades” was a daughter of Col. West. She was
teaching school at Virginia, Cass County, at the time of her death, and her
father (Col. West) came to Gen. Ruggles and suggested the propriety of a
burying-ground being laid off, and remarked that he would like to bring his
daughter here for interment. Ruggles went and staked off the present cemetery, saw the parties who owned the land, and arranged for its purchase.
Having surveyor’s instruments, he surveyed it and laid off the lots before the
first burial in it. Since then, many of the pioneers of the village and township have been laid beneath its weeping willows, to take their last long sleep.
“Where are their spirits flown?
We gaze above their looks are imaged there ; We listen and their gentle tones Are on the air.” Although the business of Bath has been waning for several years, as other
villages have sprung up in its vicinity, yet it is the center of trade for a large
and rich scope of country. Its grain trade has always been its most valuable
branch of business. Its mercantile trade boasts of some able firms and energetic and wide-awake business men.. The following summary shows the present status of the business of the place: Two dry- goods stores, two drug stores,,
two tinware, one hardware, four grocery stores, one furniture, one hotel, with
blacksmith, wagon and shoe shops, grain dealers, etc. Several well-filled millinery stores furnish the fair portion of the population with all the fashionable
flummery and female toggery of the times.
Saidora Station, in the south part of the town, has scarcely attained to the
dignity of a village. It consists of a store, depot and grain elevator, but has
never, we believe, been laid out as a village. The station is located on the
land of Joseph Adkins, and the only store of the place is kept by a son of
Adkins, who also buys grain for Low & Foster, of Havana. Large shipments ‘are made from this point, considering its close proximity to Bath and Chandlerville. NON EST INVENTUS.
Among the early villages laid out in what is now Mason County, were those
of Matanzas and Moscow. But they have paid nature’s great debt, and no
trace of them remains at the present day to mark their site. Matanzas was
laid out April 10, 1839, by V. B. Holmes and a man named Watkins Powell r and was located on portions of Sections 28 and 33, of Bath Township, near the
northern part. When laid out, it was in Tazewell County, Mason not being created
until two years later.” J. H. Schulte, an early settler of Havana Township^
had the first store in Matanzas, and was followed later by one or two others.
Shops were established, a steam saw-mill was built, which did a large business
for several years. It became quite a point for grain-shipping, and, being
located on the river, it was confidently believed that its situation would be the
means of making a town of it. We believe, too, that it once entered into competition for the county seat, after the formation of Mason County. But
Havana on the one side and Bath on the other, soon blasted its hopes in that
direction, and, literally speaking, swallowed it up- Its streets, public parks
and pleasure gardens are now corn-fields, and the passing stranger would be
struck with wonder, that a lively town had once flourished there.

he fate of Matanzas will also apply to Moscow. It is another of the
villages of Bath Township that was and is not. It was laid out May 30, 1836,. on Section 24, by Erastus Wright, for Ossian M. Ross, and was, at one time, an enterprising little village. Joseph A. Phelps had a store here, perhaps the
first one in the place. Situated on the river, it, too, was a grain point of considerable note, Maj. Gatton being one of the most extensive operators here^
But in the zenith of its glory and prosperity, it never equaled in magnificence
its namesake the ancient capital of Russia. Since the day of railroads in
Mason County, Moscow has disappeared, and, like Matanzas, the site whereon
it stood is now a productive farm. Thus two lively villages of Bath Township
have been totally eclipsed by more fortunate rivals, and the places that once;
knew them will know them no more.

 

LAST ONE-NO MORE

Bath Township History part 2

c. 1834-1880

 

PART TWO

 

Joseph F. Benner came from Ohio, and settled in this township. He assisted in building the Court House when the seat of justice was moved to Bath. Mr. Benner removed to Lincoln, Logan County, a good many years ago. Samuel Craggs came to this section in 1845 or 1846 ; was a carpenter by trade, and came from ” Old Hengland.” His wife was a sister to Smith
Turner. Two brothers William and Charles Craggs at present live in Kilbourne Township. His father was also among the early settlers, but died many years ago. William, Daniel, Francis and John Bell may also be numbered among the early settlers, though the exact year of their settlement is not remembered. After a few years they returned to Greene County, where they came from. They
were a chime of Bells that were perfectly harmonious in tone, as we were told that all four of the brothers married sisters (Morrows), and soon little Bells began
to jingle. They married sisters to Thomas Hubbard’s wife. William and Daniel were preachers ; William entering the ministry as soon as he reached manhood. J. P. Hudson came from Massachusetts to Illinois, and settled in Macoupin County in 1838, removed to this town in 1845, and located at Matanzas, where he resided several years, and then removed to his farm about five miles east of Havana, and afterward to the city “of Havana. About 1866, he removed to Mason City. He claims to have introduced the first McCormick’s Reaper into this county, and sold it afterward to William Ainsworth, of Lynchburg Township.

The Clotfelters settled in Bath Township in 1839-40. They came from Morgan County here, but were natives of some of the older settled States. The family consisted of Jacob Clotfelter, Sr.,and his sons Jacob and Michael. Theold gentleman has been dead some ten years, having removed to Kansas with his son Jacob, where he died. Michael lives in this township. Kean Mahoney came from the “auld sod ” and was one of the early settlers in Bath. He owned land near the village, and made an addition to it known as Mahoney’s Addition. He went to California in 1853, and as he has never returned, if living, is probably laboring with Dennis Kearney to compel the ” Chinese to go.” The Beesleys were from New Jersey, and finding plenty of sand here, like their
own little State down on the Atlantic coast, located in Cass County, and in 1845 came to this township. The elder Beesley lives at present with his son Frank in Jacksonville, while John, another son, lives in the city of Virginia. They were prominent merchants and grain-dealers at Bath, and did an extensive business. D. B. Frost, a down-east Yankee, settled here in 1843, and
afterward sold out and moved to Wisconsin.

Drury S. Field came from “Old Virginny,” and settled in Mason County in 183-, on what is known as Field’s Prairie, where he died in 1838. He was a physician, and said to be the first practitioner in Mason County. He was a man of wealth, and entered considerable land, or had it entered by V. B. Holmes, as already noted in this chapter. A. E. Field was a son, and, like his
father, a “doctor,” also a man of intellect and influence in the community. Mr. Field raised a large family of children, most of whom are dead. As they settled in that portion of Bath which was taken off to form Kilbourne, they are further noticed in the history of the latter town. Edward Field, the father of Dr. Drury S. Field, was a soldier of the Revolutionary war, and served through the long and desperate struggle for independence. Stokes Edwards came here among the pioneers, and still lives in this township, or on the line between this and Kilbourne Township. John A. Martin, another pioneer, from the sands of New Jersey, came here about 1846 or 1847. He first settled in Morgan County, but came to Bath, as recorded above, where he resided until his death, about four years ago. Thomas Howard, a brother-in-law to F. S. D. Marshall, came about 1845, and died some years ago. Thomas Hardisty came from Peoria to this settlement, but was originally from Kentucky, and used to regale his friends with many stories and anecdotes of that famous old State. He settled here in 1847 or 1848 remained but a few years, and then moved away. J. W. Northern was also an early settler, and removed to Kansas, since which little has been heard from him.
Israel Carman and James Gee, brothers-in-law, came here together from New York, in an early day, and are both long since dead.

John B. Renshaw came in 1845, and was one of the first blacksmiths in the settlement. He went to California, and whether living or dead his old associates do not know. J. A. Burlingame is from New York, and came to Bath in the forties. He is the genial agent for the Peoria, Pekin & Jacksonville Railroad, at Bath, and is a fixture in that position, which he has held since the completion of the road.
S. S. Rochester came from Greene County, this State, somewhere in the forties, and is still living in Bath Village. He was a strong Democrat, but, at the election of 1860, for certain reasons, voted the Republican ticket. After the election was over, the victorious party met in the saloon to glorify the result, which they did by drinking toasts. A Mr. Samuels, who was a zealous Republican, drank the following toast to Mr. Rochester, which, for years, was a byword among his friends: “Here is to ‘Sydney Breese’ Rochester, who voted the Republican ticket late in the evening,” with a heavy emphasis on the last words. Many of Mr. Rochester’s old friends will remember this with some amusement. A son, B. F. Rochester, also lives in Bath, and is one of the respected citizens of the place ; another is mentioned as Lieutenant in the Twenty-seventh Illinois Infantry. Lewis Clarkson came in 1833, and was the first settler on Field’s Prairie. He went to Missouri in 1837 or 1838.

Gen. J. M. Ruggles is a native of the old Buckeye State, and came to Illinois in 1837. He first came to Mason County in 1844, but did not locate
until 1846. He settled in Bath in. that year, and commenced the mercantile business with Maj. Gatton. He was elected to the State Senate in 1852, for the district composed of Sangamon, Menard and Mason Counties, Abraham Lincoln being a member of the Lower House. In 1856, he was appointed on a committee with Lincoln and Ebenezer Peck, to draft a platform and resolutions for the new party then forming upon the ruins of the old Whig party. The other members of the committee being otherwise engaged, the duty devolved on Ruggles, who drew up the first platform of principles of the Republican party. In 1861, Gov. Yates tendered him a commission as Quartermaster of the First Illinois Cavalry. He was soon promoted to the office of Major of the Third Cavalry, in which regiment he remained until mustered out of service in 1864, as noted in another part of this chapter. In all the positions held by Gen. Ruggles, whether civil or military, his duty has been discharged with faithful fidelity. He owns a fine lot of land in the county, mostly in Kilbourne Township, and resides at present in Havana. Franklin Ruggles, a brother of Gen. Ruggles, came to Bath in 1851, and took an interest in the flouring-mill then building by Gatton & Ruggles. A sawmill was also built, which was operated by the same power as the flouring-mill, and did a large business for several years, under the superintendence of Franklin Ruggles. He finally wore himself out by hard work and exposure in his business, and died in 1855 leaving two sons, John and James, who now lie in the grave beside their father in Bath Cemetery. John was killed at the battle of Shiloh.

Isaac N. Mitchell is a native-born ” Sucker.” His parents were among the pioneers of Morgan County, and came there from Kentucky. When Isaac was seventeen years old, the family moved to Field’s Prairie, in this township, where he worked on the farm until the age of twenty-one, when he came to the village of Bath. In 1867, he was elected Treasurer of Mason County, and, in 1869, County Clerk. He has held various other minor offices, in all of which he has given satisfaction. He is at present one of the respected citizens of Havana. Daniel R. Davis and Benjamin Sisson were from New England. The latter came to the settlement about 1842, and died several years ago. Davis was one of the first settlers on the prairie east of Bath, and came as early as 1838-39. He was an old sailor, and had been all over the world. In an altercation, one day in Bath, he was struck with a scale weight, from the effect of which he died. Leslie and George Lacy were from the old Quaker State of Pennsylvania and came to the settlement about 1842. Both are still living in the township. Henry McCleary was a jolly Irishman, and the life of the early settlers of Bath. He is recorded among the pioneers and many are the jokes traced to his authorship. One beautiful Sabbath “morning about sunrise, he was slipping out with his gun, when some one asked him where he was going. With ready Irish repartee, replied, that he had an appointment to meet Messrs. Holland and Lefever (two very strict church members), down by the river and go hunting, and he was afraid he would be late.” He was a carpenter, and when Dr. Oneal created anew office in Bath, McCleary was engaged to do the work. Dr. Oneal had a partition put in the office, which seemed to puzzle the Irish man. One day he stopped work and told the Doctor if he would pardon his curiosity, he would like to ask “what he was having that partition put in for, anyhow ‘i ” The Doctor told him that a couple of young men, viz.: Toler and Atherton, were going to study medicine with him, and he wanted a back room where the young men would be secure against interruption. McCleary, scratching his head, replied, ” Well, I don’t know anything about Atherton, but that Toler boy is just fool enough to make a doctor.”

Dr. John C. Galloway was an early settler of Bath and had a successful run of practice for several years, and then moved to Kansas. John R. Teney is an old resident of the county,
living in Bath ; also, B. C. Anton. James M. Robinson came about 1852, and was elected the first Police Magistrate of Bath. He had been in the Legislature from Menard County.
From “Bingen on the Rhine,” the following sturdy citizens came to Bath Township: G. H. and J. H. Kramer, J. H. and Diedrich’ Strube, Peter Luly Adolph Krebaum, John Havighorst, and two brothers, John Rudolph Horstman and John Henry Horstman. The Kramers came to this country together, and are both still living, highly respected citizens of Bath. They are among the
prominent business men of the place, and have accumulated a good deal of the world’s wealth. J. H. and Diedrich Strube were also brothers, and came about 1844-45. J. H. Strube is still living, but Diedrich has been dead some time. Their father came to Illinois with them, but he too, died years ago. Adolph Krebaum was elected Circuit Clerk and moved to Bath in 1845, and remained
there until 1851, when the county seat was moved back to Havana.

Peter Luly is among the early settlers, but it is not known what year he came to the town. He went to Peoria and died there. John Rudolph Horstman came to Bath in 1836, and was a blacksmith by trade. His brother, John Henry Horstman, came about four years later. A peculiarity of these brothers was both bearing the name of John. They have been dead some time. Havighorst is .among the early settlers, and located at Matanzas, but now lives in Havana, where the Havighorst family is more particularly referred to among the early settlers, as well as the Schultes and Krebaums. They have grown up with this great country, of which they had heard in their own land, and crossed the ocean to try their fortunes where all are free, regardless of the poet’s pleading words to the contrary : sprecht ! warum zogt ihr von dannen ? Das Neckarthal hat Wein und Korn ; Dor Schwarzwald steht voll finstrer Tannen,
Im Spessart klingt des Alpler’s Horn.

EARLY SCENES AND PRIVATIONS.
When the pioneers whose names are recorded above came to this section, Bath Township was not the highly cultivated farming district it is noAV. Wild prairies, timber-land, marshes and sloughs then, are now finely-improved farms. The timber has been cleared off, prairies turned upside down and marshes drained. By ditching and artificial draining, much land once supposed to be
worthless may now be reckoned among the best in the town. In place of the elegant country residences of the present day. a cabin of black-jack poles, daubed with mud, sheltered the settler and his family. Wolves were plenty, with now and then a panther to relieve the monotony. The present generation know little of what their parents had to undergo in opening up the country.
In the early times, the people went to mill at Duncan’s, on Spoon River, in Fulton County, until Simmonds built a mill on Quiver, which was more convenient, inasmuch as it was on the same side of the Illinois River that they were themselves. A few years after Simmons built his mill, McHarry erected one, also, on Quiver Creek. These supplied the people of this section until the erection of a mill in the village of Bath. There are no mills in the township outside of the village.

The first blacksmith in the township was Guy Spencer. He was an Eastern man and one of the early settlers of the county. He died twenty or twenty-five years ago. The first stores and post offices were in the villages, and are noticed in that connection. The first school, it is believed, was taught by Miss Berry, who, some time after, married F. S. D. Marshall, noticed in this chapter as one of the pioneers. She was a stepdaughter of B. F. Turner, brother of Smith Turner. The first death to in the settlement was Louis Van Court, an old hunter. He was a bachelor, and lived u around,” staying first with one and then with another, and was very wealthy owning a gun, a fiddle and an axe. He died in 1836, and, as an old settler informed us, was buried in the sand, near where the village of Moscow once stood. Since his day, many of the pioneers have followed him to the land of shadows. Hiram Blunt, a son of Thomas Blunt, is supposed to have been the first birth in Bath. At any rate, he always claimed to have been the first born in the county contesting that honor with Mr. Krebaum, who is elsewhere mentioned as the first in the county. The first marriage is lost in the mists of
antiquity ; but that there has been a first marriage, followed by many others, the present population bears indisputable evidence.

The first messenger to proclaim the glad tidings of salvation to the people of Bath Township was the Rev. Mr. Shunk, a Methodist minister. He established the first class and church of that denomination, and used to preach at Maj. Gatton’s before there was any church edifice erected in the town. He came originally from Pennsylvania about 1841, and died some three years ago
from the effects of sunstroke. Another of the early preachers was the Rev. Mr. Daniels, of the Baptist Church, who is still living in the village of Bath, arid occasionally preaches in the Christian Church of Bath. Rev. George A. Bonney was also an early preacher in this section, and of the Methodist denomination. There are two church edifices in the township outside of the village,
viz. : Mt. Zion Baptist Church, on Sec. 35, some five or six miles southeast of Bath ; it was erected twenty years or more ago, and is an ordinary frame building. The other is a German Lutheran Church, in the northeast part of the town. It is a neat frame edifice, built about 186465, and well attended by the German citizens, who comprise most of the population in this part of the town.
THE RAILROADS.
Bath Township is traversed by the Peoria, Pekin & Jacksonville Railroad, which was completed through the town in 1859. A full history of this road
is given elsewhere in this work, and will not be repeated in this chapter. It is the only railroad running through Bath, about twelve or thirteen miles of it being in the town. The Springfield & North- Western Railroad, which was completed through from Springfield to Havana in 1873, although not touching this township, receives considerable freight from it, much of the grain in the eastern
part of Bath being hauled to Kilbourne and shipped over this road. Thus it will be seen that Bath Township, with the benefit of two railroads and river
transportation, is well supplied with shipping facilities. Mason County adopted township organization in 1861, when some changes- were made in the boundaries of the original townships, or election precincts.

Bath formerly included in its boundary one half of the present town of Kilbourne, as noticed in the history of that town. Under the new order of things J. H. Allen was the first Supervisor of Bath Township, while J. H. Dierker represents it at present in the honorable County Board. In politics, Bath Township has always been Democratic, and, since the organization of the Republican party, it has been more strongly Democratic than ever. During the late war, it was loyal to the core, and furnished troops in excess of all calls. No draft occurred in the town during the entire struggle,
and it could have stood another call without having been subjected to one pretty good evidence in support of Mr. Lincoln’s assertion, that he could never put down the rebellion without the assistance of the War Democrats.

Bath turned out a number of shoulder-straps, as well as her full quotaof muskets. Among the former, we may mention the gallant Ruggles, noticed in the list of early settlers in another page. He went into the war as Lieutenant and Quartermaster of the First Illinois Cavalry, but was soon promoted to- Major of the Third Cavalry, and, at the battle of Pea Ridge, to Lieutenant
Colonel. At the close of the war, he was breveted Brigadier General for meritorious services. Charles “W. Houghton, Captain in the Eighty-fifth Regiment of infantry ; T. F. Patterson, Captain in same regiment ; Charles H. Chatfield entered as a private, was wounded, came home and veteranized, and was elected Captain in same regiment, and was killed at Chickamauga ; Samuel Young was Lieutenant in same regiment ; C. H. Raymond, First Lieutenant in same ; George O. Craddock, entered as private, and was promoted to a Lieutenancy in same regiment before close of war ; A. J. Bruner (killed in Missouri), J. H. Mitchell and A. T. Davis were Lieutenants in the Seventeenth Infantry; J. H. Schulte, Captain, and W. W. Nelson, Lieutenant, in the One
Hundred and Eighth Infantry ; W. H. Rochester, Lieutenant in Twenty-seventh Infantry ; J. W. Chatfield, Second Lieutenant in same regiment ; A. H. Frazer, Second Lieutenant, First Lieutenant and then Captain in the Fifty-first Infantry ; Robert Huston, Lieutenant in same regiment ; Charles Reichman, Second Lieutenant in Twenty-eighth Infantry ; F. S. Cogshall and W. W. Turner, Lieutenants in Eighty-fifth Infantry ; Frank A. Mosely and John B. Brush, Lieutenants in One Hundred and Thirty-ninth Regiment (one hundred days). The rank and file, too numerous to be mentioned in this limited space, were of the sturdy ” sons of the soil,” who bore themselves bravely in the front, of the fray. To those who laid down their lives upon Southern battle-fields,
Requiescant in Pace.

 

THANKS to those that have been reading these but this project WILL BE SUSPENDED due to low readership. There will be the final segment (part 3) of Bath Township tomorrow then we pause.  (Yesterday I had 8 readers)

c. 1834-1880 (it is here as is…from the book)

Bath Township

This township has considerable river-front, and, excepting Lynchburg, is the southwest town of Mason County. It has an area nearly equal to two Congressional towns, embracing about seventy sections, and is some twelve miles long by six to eight miles wide. It is bounded on the north and northwest by Havana Township and the Illinois River, on the west by Lynchburg
Township, on the south by the Sangamon River, and on the east by Kilbourne Township. The soil, like that of most of Mason County, partakes of a sandy
nature, but is exceedingly fertile, producing corn, oats and wheat in great abundance. At the time of its settlement, about one-third of the land included
in Bath Township was timbered, the remainder rolling prairie ; well watered by the numerous little lakes here and there, among which may be mentioned Wolf, Wiggenton, Swan, Fish, Goose, Bell, and, perhaps, others, while it is drained by the Illinois and Sangamon Rivers, White Oak Creek and numerous sloughs.

Artificial draining has also been added, by the opening of ditches at the public expense. One of these modern but valuable improvements extends
through the eastern part of the town, and is known as the Ruggles’ Ditch, car- rying off the superfluous water, through Jordan Slough, into the Sangamon River ; and another in the northeast, Black Jack Ditch, conveys the water, through White Oak Creek, into the Illinois. The “Main Branch” of the Illinois River, as it is termed, and which is the deeper channel, but the nar- rower, diverges from the broader stream about two miles north of the village of Bath, thereby forming an island west of the village, some six sections in extent,
called Grand Island, and containing several farms and residences, to which reference will again be made. The Peoria, Pekin & Jacksonville Railroad, more particularly noticed in the general county history, traverses the entire length of Bath Township, entering the north part through Section 26 and running, in a southwest direction, to the village of Bath, when it takes a course due south, on the section line, crossing the Sangamon River between Sections 29 and 30. This road has been of great benefit to this section in transporting the large quantities of grain produced, and, with the competition afforded by the river, the farmers are enabled to secure reasonable rates of freight. The stations in this town are Bath and Saidora, the history of which will be givenin another chapter.

SETTLEMENT OF THE TOWNSHIP.
The first dwellings reared by white men in the present town of Bath were built by John Stewart and John Gillespie in 1828. Gillespie erected his cabin
on the old site of Moscow, and Stewart on Snicarte Island, a portion of which belongs to this township. They were from Tennessee, and though acknowledged the first actual settlers, did not remain long in the town, but in a year or two removed to Schuyler County. Gillespie left his claim “for better or worse,” but Stewart sold out to Amos Richardson, and he, in turn, sold it to John Knight, who had entered the land. This was the first land entered in what is now known as Bath Township. Knight was from the East, and was what was called in those early days, by the Southern people, who composed the majority of the settlers, a ” flat-mouthed Yankee.” Knight settled here in 1829-30, but in a few years removed to Fulton County, where he died soon after. He sold the place to James H. ‘Allen, with whom he had an extensive law-suit. He sued Allen for the improvements made on the place, but, before the cause was decided, he died.

Henry Shepherd was the first settler in the north part of the township, locating on the spot where afterward rose the village of Matanzas. He was from Eastern Pennsylvania, and is acknowledged to have been the first settler in this immediate neighborhood, though no one now can tell the exact time of his settlement. He entered his land, however, in 1832, and probably came
but a short time prior to that date. It is related of him that he would never allow a plow in his corn, but cultivated it exclusively with hoes, a mode of farming that would be looked on at the present day as decidedly peculiar. His death was a singular one, but as we are not sufficiently skilled in medical technicalities to describe it in fitting terms, we will refer our readers for particulars to some of the old settlers (Charley Richardson, for instance), who still remember the circumstances.

From Kentucky, the ” dark and bloody ground” of aboriginal story and song, the township received the following additions to its population : Joseph
A. Phelps,^F. S. D. Marshall, Col. A. S. West, Dr. Harvey Oneal, Maj. B. H. Gatton and his brother, R. P. Gatton, John S. Wilburn, C. P. Richardson,. Rev. J. A. Daniels, James Holland, Thomas F., Samuel, Laban and Richard Blunt, William H. Nelms, William, John G. and C. Conover, Samuel Pettitt, and perhaps others. Joseph A. Phelps settled in the township about 1840, but shortly after
moved into the village of Bath. He was the first Circuit Clerk of Mason County, and was at one time Probate Judge, and for a number of years a Justice of the Peace. He finally removed to Nebraska, where he died in 1878. Marshall came from Cass County to this settlement, but was originally from Kentucky. He was a young lawyer when he caine here, was elected the first Master in Chancery, and, in 1845, appointed Circuit Clerk by Judge Lockwood ; was also elected to the Constitutional Convention of 1847-48. His death occurred in 1854-55. He married a Miss Berry, who taught one of the early schools of Bath. Col. West first came to the State in 1827-28, and settled near the present city of Virginia, in Cass County, and in 1844 came to this township, where he still owns a large farm, though for some time has been living in Kansas. He visits his former home and old neighbors occasionally, and still vividly remembers the privations of early times in this section of the country.

After the county seat was moved to Bath, and before a court house was built, Circuit Court was held at his residence. He was one of the early merchants of Bath ; served also with distinction in the Winnebago war. Dr. Oneal, an old settler of this township, married his daughter. He came from Virginia, Cass County, to this township, but, as already noted, was from Kentucky, and settled here about 1842-43, but lives at present in Kilbourne Township, and will be further noticed in the chapter devoted to that town. I Maj. Gatton came to the State with his father, in 1824, and settled in Cass
County (then a part of Morgan), when he was but sixteen years old. In 1831, having begun the battle of life, he located in Beardstown, where he resided until his removal to Bath, in May, 1841, soon after the formation of Mason County. When Maj. Gatton settled in the present village of Bath, there was but one little pole cabin then in the place, besides the house he had had built for his own use before his removal. His brother, R. P. Gatton, came on before him and attended to the building of it, that it might be* ready for his brother’s family. It was of hewed logs, and, with the exception of the pole cabin already alluded to, was the first residence in Bath Village. The body of this building is still standing, though moved from its original site, and modernized by being
weatherboarded and lathed and plastered.

R. P. Gatton lived in the village until his death, in 1873. Maj. Gatton is still living, enjoying fine health for man of threescore and ten years. He has been one of the solid business men of the place, one of the first merchants and grain-dealers, and still follows the latter business to some extent. To his active memory, we are indebted for much of the history of this township. He is noticed further in the history of the village. John F. Wilbourn first settled in Beardstown upon coming to the State, but came to Bath in 1843. He served as Circuit Clerk, and was the second Postmaster at Bath. He lives at present two and a half miles east of Mason City. Charles P. Richardson is one of the oldest settlers of Bath Township, now living, having settled here in 1836, and lived in the town ever since. He first settled on Grand Island, opposite Bath, and for ten or twelve years has been living in the village. He came to the State with his father in 1819, the next year after it was admitted into the Union, but did not settle in this county until 1836, as noted above. He was one of the chain-carriers to President Lincoln, when he surveyed the original village of Bath, as hereafter noticed. The surveying party made their home at Mr. Richardson’s while engaged in the work, who, with true Kentucky hospitality, refused all offers of remuneration, but ” honest Old Abe,” determined to compensate him for the trouble his party had caused him, surveyed his land free of charge. Mr. Richardson is still living and in vigorous health, with a mind well stored with ,the history of the county and anecdotes of the pioneer days, some of which are given to embellish these pages.

Rev. J. A. Daniels was born in Virginia, but removed with his parents to Kentucky when a child. He came to Illinois in 1835, and settled in Cass County, and, in 1845, came to this township, where he has resided ever since, most of the time in the village of Bath. He is one of the pioneer preachers of the Baptist denomination. James Holland was his father-in-law, and came to the town with Daniels. He died a number of years ago. The Blunts came here in the thirties. Thomas F. and Laban came first. Just here we give the following from A. A. Blunt, a son of Thomas F., PS of interest to his family and old friends : ” Thomas F. Blunt was born in Kent County, Md., and removed with his parents to Kentucky in boyhood. He married Miss Alderson, of Hart County, Ky., and of eight children born to them, four are still living. In the fall of 1831, he removed to Missouri, and, in 1833, to Illinois. He came to the territory now embraced in Mason County in December of that year. In 1849, unaided and alone, he built a schoolhouse, for school and church purposes, and provided a teacher for the ensuing winter. He was one of the original members of Mount Zion Baptist Church (mentioned elsewhere), and the only one now living in the county. He owned the first threshing machine and the first reaper ever operated in Mason County. In 1872, he was attacked with palsy in his right side, with which he is still a sufferer.”

A few years later, Richard Blunt, a brother to Thomas and Laban, came to the settlement. He and Laban died in the township. Samuel Blunt, one of the brothers, lives at present in Kilbourne Township. William H. Nelms first settled in Cass County, and came from Beardstown to Bath in 1842. He and Maj. Gatton had the first store in Bath, a business continued for some time, and a son of Mr. Neltns now lives in Havana, and is engaged in the grain business. The elder Mr. Nelms was one of the original proprietors of the vil- lage of Bath. The Conovers came to the township and settled within a mile of Bath, about the year 1841. There were three brothers of them Combs, William and John G., and their father settled in Morgan County in 1821, where the family lived until the sons came here as above. All are dead except John G., who lives in another part of the county Sherman Township, we believe. Samuel Pettitt settled here about 1848, and some years later moved to Missouri, where he died.

From Tennessee, the home of Old Hickory, we have the following recruits: Joseph Adkins, Joseph Wallace, William and James Dew, Manning and Thomas Bruce, Nelson R. Ashurst, John Johnson, Matthew Wiley and son, Patrick W. Campbell, and his son, George H. Campbell, and probably others, whose names we have failed to obtain. The Campbells were among the early settlers of Bath Township, were prominent business and professional men, and accumulated a large property. George II. Campbell, a son of Patrick W. Campbell, came to the township as early as 1838, then a youth of but seventeen years ; his father came in 1840, and settled down in the southern part of the town near Smith Turner’s. He was the first Surveyor of Mason County, an office he
held for a number of years, and was one of the highly respected citizens of the town and county. George H., upon whose shoulders the father’s mantle worthily rests, was elected to office in early life, that of Assessor and Treasurer of the county, soon after attaining his majority. He married a daughter of Maj’. Gatton, and their eldest son, William H. Campbell, is an able lawyer of Havana, and the present Mayor of that city. George H. Campbell is a lawyer of ability and has served his country at the bar, in the legislative halls of the State, and on the tented field. His record as County Judge is well known and needs no comment. He was elected to the Legislature in 1858, and served with ability. During the late war, he assisted in raising the One Hundred and Sixth Regiment of Illinois Infantry, of which he was made Lieutenant Colonel, but resigned in about a year on account of ill health. At present he resides in Mason City, where he is further noticed.

next week- Bath Township

 

 

GEORGE BLACK, hotel, Manito; was born in Blair Co., Penn., Dec. 24, 1810, and remained there until 1857, engaged in farming and teaming; his first efforts in farming were in 1841, at which time he rented of Hawkins for two years, and next or R. Bell six years ; he next moved to Mr. Bell’s brother’s farm for five years, moving next to Tazewell Co., 111., remaining there two years; he next rented a farm of H. Alwood for two years, afterward renting of Alexander Trent two years, and then ofMrs. Whitehead four years, after which he bought the present hotel in Manito, 111., moving there in 1865, and has recently improved it very much ;*it is the only hotel in town, and has a very good patronage. He was married, in 1834, to Rebecca Manley,a daughter of a worthy tailor by trade : she was born in Lancaster Co., Penn. ; they had eleven children. Mr. Black is now 69 years old, and but one year of his allotted three- score and ten remains ; yet he bids fair for a few more sunny days to ripen his good old age. 

JOSEPH DAILY, farmer ; P. O. Manito ; was born in 1829, in Ireland,*and remained there until 15 years old, when he went, with his mother, to England, and engaged in driving stage-coaches; in 1854, he came to New York and worked for President Fillmore for seven months ; he then mined coal in Virginia for three months ; he then came to St. Louis and remained some time, when he went to Kingston, 111., and engaged in mining ; he next started a coal mine for himself near Peoria, in 1856, and some time afterward, started another at or near Pekin, where he succeeded very well ; he hauled his coal to Mason City and exchanged it for corn, which he hauled back and sold at Pekin ; in 1859, he started another mine near Lancaster Landing, in partnership with Joseph Steward, and continued one winter ; he then lived in Pekin for six years, then moved to Manito, 111., and engaged in lumbering and buying grain ; in 1864, he bought eighty acres in Manito Township; in 1867, he settled on it and hasincreased it to 640 acres; when Mr. Daily began business at Pekin, he had just five cents. Was married, in 1860, to Mary Fox, of Ireland ; they have had two children Joseph, who died in 1865, and Joseph, born in 1866. He has property in Manito worth $1,000, and in Pekin $2,000, also 160 acres of land in Tazewell Co. ; he has held the office of Highway Commissioner and Roadmaster.

 

S. EAKIN,lumber-dealer, Notary Public, collecting agent, Manito ; was born Oct. 25, 1827, in Greene Co., 111., on farm, and remained there until 10 years old, when he moved, with his father, to Whitehall, where he engaged in merchandising with his father for two years ; his father then moved to Montezuma, 111., and engaged in merchandising for some time, when his father built a stone mill. Mr. Eakin worked for his father until 23, at masonry, carpentering and farming. In 1851, Mr. Eakin went to Fulton Co., and settled at Ellisville and engaged in carpentering and improving a farm. He remained until August; spring of 1852, he began teaming with A. Roper, of Montezuma, and remained until 1853 ; was engaged part of this time laying track on T., W.& W. R.R. In the fall of 1853, he returned to Fulton Co., settling at Fairview, and was occupied in farming, plastering and stone work, until the spring of 1855. when he learned daguerreotyping, with W. H. Seaving, of Canton, 111. In 1855, he returned to Montezuma and engaged in daguerreotpying there, and in Scott Co., until the fall, and then worked at plastering and brick-laying until Dec. 22. when he was taken <?ick, and was confined until February ; after his recovery, he went to Fulton Co. on business, and, on return worked at stonemasonry until 1856, when he left for Moroy, and engaged in plastering till the close of season, returning then to his home in Pike Co., where he remained until March, 1857, when he went to Spring Lake, Tazewell Co., and engaged in plastering and improving his farm until spring of 1858, when he was elected Assessor, and appointed collector of taxes for Ezekiel A. Poe ; he was also engaged in farming, but was unfortunate, by reason of crops failing, and, in 1859, he came to Manito, 111., and stopped at 0. C. Bartram’s during the winter ; next changing his home to J. K. Cox’s ; here he remained, engaged in trading, until 1860, when he worked at Pekin, laying brick with H. Ribbet, until midsummer, When he was again taken sick. In the fall of 1860, Mr. Eakin began boarding with B. F. Nash, and remained there until he enlisted in July, 1861, in Co. C, 2d I. V. C., and remained until Aug. 16, 1862, when he was wounded at the battle of Merriweather’s Ferry, Tenn. ; was taken to hospital at Union City, and remained until Oct. 30, when he was discharged by Gen. Grant ; he returned home from Cairo, on horseback, and became administrator of his father’s estate, who had died in 1861 ; also settling up his own business, and making his home with Nash until spring, at which time he found his business such as to demand a settlement, which he made by paying his creditors 100 cents on the dollar, leaving him only his clothes, books, and’ some poor notes. Shortly afterward, he purchased his present residence, and rented the’same to Dr. J. W. Neal. In April, 1863, he went to Brown Co., and engaged in canvassing for ” Abbott’s Historyuntil June, when he was again taken sick, recovering in time to attend the celebration at Quincy, 111. ; he then went to Morgan Co., and canvassed for ” Mitchell’s Atlas ” until August ; not succeeding well, he re- turned to Manito Aug. 20, and engaged at plastering and bricklaying until 1876, when he went into the lumber business at Manito, which he still continues. Dec. 25, he was married, in schoolhouse in Manito, to Minnie Ziegenbein, born in Germany; they have three children Lillian, Ernest J. and Daisy B. His wife is in the millinery business, at Manito, and is doing well. Mr. Eakin has held offices of Police Magistrate (now in second term), Notary Public at present; has been Trustee of Schools, and President of Board of Trustees ; March 7, 1874, he was appointed School Treasurer, and still holds that office ; was Trustee of Manito, and was once candidate for County Clerk, but was defeated ; is insurance agent for the Hartford Insurance Co. ; is a charter member of Manito Lodge, No. 476, A., F. & A. M., and now holds the office of W. M. in same.

JOHN FURRER, farmer; P.O. Manito; was born June 9, 1838, on a farm in Germany, where he remained until 14 years old, when he came with his parents to Illinois, and settled in Mason Co., and has been here ever since. He first engaged in farming for Mr. Akers, near Topeka ; after hurd working three years, for $10 a month, he worked for himself, on what is the Kidman farm, for three years. In 1864, he was married to Lidda Singley, of Pennsylvania ; after marriage they settled on Mr. Starrett’s farm, and remained two years, after which he moved to Mr. Schrink’s farm, and has been there ever since a period of twelve years. They have four children Sarah, William, Lindy and Melia, deceased. They are members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Furrer takes quite an interest in educating his children, furnishing them excellent literature. 

 

REV. W. B. GILMORE^clergyman, Manito; was born April 4, 1836, in Mechanicsville, N. J., remained there until li years old, when his parents moved to Springfield, 111., and remained a year ; they then moved to Fairview, Fulton Co., where his father now lives ; his mother’s maiden name was Vanordstrand. He attended school while he was with his parents, and at length studied Latin and Greek, under Rev.Mr. Jerolmon ; during 1859 and 1860, he taught school at Fairview. . In September, 1861, he went to Holland, Mich., and attended the Hope College, at that place, where he graduated in 1866 ; he then commenced his course in the Faith Seminary, at Fair- view, in which he graduated in 1869. He then went to Amelia Court House, Va., and engaged in the Amelia Institute, remaining four years. During this time, he married Christine C. Van Ralte, daughter of Rev. A. C. Van Ralte, founder of the colony of Holland, Mich. ; they moved to Holland, Mich., where he engaged as Principal of the Female Academy for a year. Owing to ill health, he abandoned teaching, and came to Spring Lake, Tazewell Co., and took charge of the Reform Church there. In 1876, he began his labors at Manito, where he now resides ; has held almost all offices connected with the Church. All through life, he has depended upon his own resources ; he gave instruction in music while in the Institute at Michigan. He has had four children A. V. R., Willie B. S., d.ed June 25, 1871 ; Margaret A., died Feb. 21, 1879 ; Frank E., died Feb. 13, 1879.

 

GEORGE HECKMANN, blacksmith and carriage-maker, Manito ; was born Aug. 24, 1831, in Baden, Germany, and remained there until August, 1853, when he came to New York and engaged in his trade, blacksmithing and wagon-making, for two years, after which he came to Pekin, 111., and worked for T. & H. Smith at smithing for eleven years. In 1866, he was in business for himself in Pekin for a year. In September, he moved to Manito, 111., settling in partnership with N. Weber until Dec. 13, 1871, when the firm of Heckmann & Weber moved to Pekin and remained there in business until 1874, when Mr. Heckmann sold to Fry & Weber, and returned to Manito, July 24, and engaged in the present business. Mr. Heckmann has accumulated a little fortune; has a shop, house and three lots in Manito and 106 acres of land in Tazewell Co., under fine improvement, earned entirely by his careful management. He has been a member of the M. E. Church twenty-three years ; his wife and two children are also members. He was married, Jan. 24, 1856, to Mary F. Weber, of Pekin; they have had ten children Lizzie (dead), George, Freddie (dead), Philip, Arthur, Anna, Lewis, Liddie, Ida, and Frankie. George is working at wagon-making in Kansas City. Mr. Heckmann has held the office of Town Trustee. THOMAS HILL, farmer; P.O. Manito; was born in England in 1825, on a farm, and remained there until 1851, engaged in farming with his father. He came to New York ; remained but a short time ; then came to Illinois, settling at Knoxville for six months, making brick ; he then worked on a farm in Knox Co. for Bainbridge, for one winter, when he hired out to Squire Marks for a year, and afterward went to Peoria and engaged in working in a tavern for Prince, where he remained some four years ; he then worked at farming at Princeville for five years for himself; from there he came to Mason Co. and engaged in farming for himself, renting of B. Prettyman ; he then went to what is called Egypt and engaged on E. Alwood’s farm for two years. Nov.22, 1862, he was married to Nancy C. Charltou, of Clark Co., 111.; some time after marriage, they bought land and settled on it and rented ; he sold out in a year and rented a farm of George Alfs for three years ; from there they came to the present farm of 240 acres, 160 ot which they inherited and the rest they have obtained by their own labor ; the land is worth probably $50 per acre. His wife had the following children before marrying Mr. Hill James B., A. Lincoln, William H.; after this marriage John T., George W., Annie, Mary (died Oct. 14, 1864, Sargent M., Cornelius E., Columbus, Sarah A. (dead), Charlie. 

 

MATTHEW LANGSTON, farmer; P. 0. Manito; was born June 4, 1824, in Rutherford Co., Tenn., on a farm, and remained there some time ; when quite young,

he went to Missouri, and his lather there engaged in farming and as a wheelwright for some two years; they came, in the fall of 1828, to Illinois, and settled in Morgan Co. ^now Scott), on a farm ; Mr. Langston remained at home until 1843, at which time ho

went into partnership wiih his’ brother and bought a saw-mill of their father, owning

and running it until the spring of 1850, when he sold out and moved to Mason Co. and improved a farm, which he sold in 1873 ; he was engaged in mercantile business

at Manito from 1865 until 1873, in which year he went to Kansas and farmed a year, returning and settling in Manito, 111., on some property which they now own ; he is now

managing and farming a piece of land owned by Peter W. Gay, of Manito Township ; he was engaged one year in the war with Mexico, and, in the late war, was Captain of

a company in the 85th I. V. I.; he has held various offices in the township and

district, such as Justice of the Peace in Manito, one of the first Commissioners who

laid off the township. Supervisor of Manito Township six years, School Trustee and

Treasurer, Road Commissioner, Collector one term ; elected County Judge, served two

years and then resigned, and, in the fall of 1870, was elected Representative from the

Sixty- First District of Illinois, which position he filled with honor; he is a member of

Lodge No. 476, A., F. & A. M., of Manito ; his education was very limited ; he studied

arithmetic but eleven days ; by securing all kinds of valuable literature, he has made

himself both useful and beneficial. Mr. Langston’s father was a minister and early

educated his son. Was married, in 1848, to Elizabeth Havens, of Illinois; she died

in February, 1850 ; in January, 1851, he was married to Sarah Havens, a sister of his

first wife ; they have five children William M., Elizabeth, Rebecca, Ellen, Edward.

 

  1. R. McCLUGGAGE, physician and surgeon, Manito ; was born in Holmes Co. , Ohio, June 13, 1844, on a farm; when 16 years old, he went to Southern Ohio,

and engaged in farming with his father, until 1865, when he came to Illinois,

settling in Mason Co., working on a farm by the month, going to school in winter ; in the fall of 1867, he commenced teaching school at the Walker district ; he

continued teaching in Illinois until 1871, when he went to Nebraska and engaged in teaching and laboring; he taught there in the summer of 1871, and winter of 1S72

and spring of 1873, after which he returned to Mason Co., 111., and read medicine at Mason City, with Dr. I. N. Ellsbury, until the fall of 1875, when he began attending

Rush Medical College at Chicago, graduating in 1877, when he returned home and

began practicing medicine at Manito and has met with good success ; during the winter of 1878, his office burned up in connection with Dr. Walker’s, and consumed every

medical book in town ; he is at present Highway Commissioner. He was married, in April, 1877, to Clara Todd, of Topeka, 111.; they have one child Thomas

 

  1. BENJAMIN RUTHENBURG, merchant, Manito; was born in 1819 in Prussia : remained there until 21, when he went into the army for two years; in 1843, he came

to Baltimore and from there to Philadelphia, thence to Nashville, Tenn., where he

began merchandising, afterward moving to New Orleans and engaging in selling goods ; he then moved to St. Louis, in 1845, and, in partnership with his brother, dealt in dry

goods for six years, when he sold out and next engaged as clerk in merchandising for a firm in Agency City, Iowa, which he afterward bought and continued in until 1859, in which year he married Mrs. Dolinda Sparks, (Witherforth); she had two sons Edgar

and Hubbard Sparks ; Edgar owns a farm of 200 acres which he and his brother manage. In 1861, Mr. Ruthenburg engaged in merchandising in Spring Lake Town until 1863, when he came to Manito and engaged in merchandising; in 1877, he transferred

his business to his step-son. He was a Justice of the Peace at Spring Lake and also member of the first Town Board of Manito ; he owns property worth $2,000, earned

entirely by his own labor and management. 

 

  1. W. ROGERS, farmer; P. 0. Manito; was born Oct. 14, 1825, in Clark Co.,

Ky., on a farm and remained there until 6 years old, when he went with John C. Rogers

to Old Virginia ; Mr. John C. Rogers was a Baptist minister, who married W. Bonitield, of Virginia; they moved to Illinois in 1831, and settled in Morgan Co., on a farm, where Mr. Rogers lived until 1850. In 1848, he was married to Rebecca Langston, of Tennessee ; they settled, some time after, .on Hugh Davis’ farm for a year,

afterward renting for a year ; he then moved to a farm owned by Livingston, in Tazewell Co.. for a year; in 1851, lie settled the present farm of 160 acres, then a raw

prairie, but now. by improvement, is one of the finest forms in the country ; Mr. Rogers made his happy home by his own labor and management; he takes an interest in all

 

modern improvements, having on his farm utensils worth laboring with ; in an early day,

he took quite an interest in starting hedges ; he has taken much care in selecting and

cultivating fine fruits for home use ; has held offices of Supervisor, Road Commissioner

and Pathmaster. Has five children Lucinda S., John W.~, Mary E., Rhoda R. and

Nellie E. ; John has taught school and is now attending the institute at Mason City.

Mrs. Rogers is a member of the Lutheran Church.

 

  1. B. ROBINSON, builder and contractor, Manito ; was born Sept. 15,

1836, in Union Co., Penn., and remained there until 14 years old. His father was a tailor by trade and also followed piloting on the Susquehanna River. When

Mr. Robinson was 10 years old his father died, leaving him an entire orphan, his mother having died when he was 6 months old ; he came to Tazewell Co., 111., when

about 10 years old, in company with his brother-in-law, Mr. Boone, and settled at Pekin for some three years ; when about 17, began to work at carpentering, and has

been at it ever since ; after leaving Pekin, they went to what is called Egypt, Tazewell

Co., and settled on a farm for some five years; Mr. Robinson then came to Egypt Station (now Manito) ; in 1861, he enlisted in Co. A, 28th I. V. I., and remained in the

service until April 6, 1866 ; he went out as a drummer, in which capacity he served

two years, and was then appointed by the Colonel Regimental Postmaster and afterward

Brigade Postmaster; on his return from the war, he settled in Manito and soon married.

Aug. 3, 1866, Mrs. Martha Boone, daughter of G-eorge Black; she had one child Ella A. Boone ; by their marriage they had two children Drusilla R. and W. W. Mr.

Robinson has held the office of President of Board of Trustees three years and is such

at present ; Village Trustee six terms ; Justice of the Peace three years and still holds

the Office ; Town Clerk, Collector, and is now collector and insurance agent for the Phoe-

.nix, American Central, at St. Louis, Rockford, of Rockford, and Home, of New York ; he also belongs to Lodge No. 476, A., F. & A. M., of Manito ; he has held office of Secretary in the Lodge seven years ; is now S. W.

 

JOHN 0. RANDOLPH, farmer; P. 0. Manito; was born Dec. 9, 1816, in Virginia ; son of Philip Randolph, who died before J. 0. Randolph was born ; when

Mr. Randolph was 6 weeks old, his mother moved with him to Tennessee, where she

supported herself and children ; when Mr. Randolph was 12 years old, he worked out for his board ; at 13, he hired out at $3 per month, and was to go to school in winter; wrlen

he was 15, he was bound out to A. Blackburn, with whom he went from Sullivan Co.,

Ind., to La Porte Co., Ind., and engaged working on a farm for five years, when he

began business for himself on a farm near Terre Haute, where his mother was living. In 1837, he married Elizabeth Best, of Harrison Co., Ind.; they lived in Vigo, lad.,

six years. In 1843, he moved to Clark Co., 111., and engaged in farming and keeping

woodyard, running a saw-mill and building boats; he remained until 1851, when he

moved to Manito, 111., and settled on a farm, renting of Thomas Landrith ; in 1853,

they bought a farm of 100 acres in Manito Township, paying for it by their own labors ; in 1856, he went into mercantile business at Spring Lake, 111., and continued it until 1859, when he returned to farming until 1871 ; in that year, he opened a grain busi- ness in Forest City, and continued it until 1876, when he moved to Manito ; he sold

his farm in 1877 to P. W. Thomas ; he has a house and two lots in Forest City and a house and three lots in Manito. Has held office of Justice of the Peace, Clark Co..

111.; Constable, Vigo Co., Ind.; Assessor, Manito Township; School Treasurer arid Director, Clerk of Board of Trustees and has taught school. Has had seven children

Mary L., Susan E., Mary P. (dead), John E. (dead), William C. (dead), Margaret

  1. (dead), Nancy J. (deadj. 

 

  1. A. ROSHER, Postmaster and dealer in dry goods and notions, Manito ; was

born April 27, 1827, in Germany, and remained there until 1849, when he came to New York, staying there a short time, and then went to Milwaukee, Wis., where he

engaged in the grocery business for three years ; afterward, going to Peoria, 111., and

engaged in dry goods for eight years ; he then moved to Manito, 111., and engaged in

his present business, managing it ever since. In 1869, he was made Postmaster at this place and still holds that position ; some time after he became Postmaster, he took it

upon himself to procure the establishment here of a money-order office. He was married, in 1850, to Caroline Darris, by whom he had eleven children Dora, William,

Gustus, Eda, Charlie, Otto, Mena, Ida, John, Emma (died July 4, 1853), Matilda

(died Dec. 20, 1859); his wife died in 1874. In 1875, he married a second time. Mr. Rosher is doing a first-class business and is using his means with frugality ; his home is under fine improvement. 

 

RICHARD SAUTER, boots and shoes, Manito ; was born in Wittemburg April

3^1831, and remained there until 21, engaged in the boot and shoe business; in May.

1852, he emigrated to New York, and soon went to Reading, Penn., and was engaged

in shoemaking for four years ; he next went to Steubenville and worked for Kent six years ; from there he moved to Pekin, 111., and worked at shoemaking for John Velde

one year ; moving from there to McLean Co., he settled at Danvers and engaged in the

boot and shoe business for himself for two years. Nov. 25, 1857, he was married to Elizabeth Hotz, of Pekin. They shortly afterward moved to Havana, where he opened

in the same business, remaining until he came to Manito ; he now has a happy home

with two lots and a good boot and shoe shop. Has held office of Trustee of Manito

two terms ; is a Freemason ; he was Vice President of the German Free School of

Havana, 111. Names of his children Philip, Matilda (deceased), Emma (deceased).

Carl (deceased), Bertha, Margaret, Elizabeth, Sabina. Philip makes harness in connection with his father’s business. 

 

REV. A. SIEVING, minister, Manito; was born Sept. 9, 1847, in District of

Melle, Hanover, Germany ; at the age of 7, he came with his parents to St. Louis, Mo.,

where his father was in the boot and shoe business for seven years ; here he attended

school ; in his 15th year, he began attending the Gymnasium College at Ft. Wayne.

Ind., and remained six years; after graduating, he went to St. Louis, Mo., and attended

the Concordia College for four years ; he graduated there and soon after engaged in the

ministry at Lincoln, Benton Co., Mo., in the Lutheran Church ; remained there about

five years ; he then came in 1876 to the Egypt Lutheran Chu r ch in Mason Co. and is still rendering services at that place ; he has another appointment at Sand Prairie,

Tazewell Co., which he founded ; he has taught school ; was Secretary of the Western

District of the Synod of Missouri, Ohio and other States. Was married May 12, 1872,

to” Mary Querl ; has three children Charlie, Theodore. Augustus, besides Annie, an orphan girl, whom they are raising. Mr. Sieving devotes his entire attention to the

ministry. 

 

PETER SINGLEY, farmer ; P. 0. Manito ; was born in 1817, in Pennsylvania, on a farm, and remained until 1861 ; was engaged in farming until 21 ; when he was 25 years old, he began coal mining in Pennsylvania, and followed it for twenty-five

years, part of which time he was under a boss, and afterward WHS foreman, the boss

having been killed; in 1850, he came to Illinois, and bought 160 acres, which he paid

for by his own labor ; his improvement on the same has made it one of the finest farms

in the county. He was married, first, in 1844, to Catharine Boyer, by whom he had

three childreu Emma, Elizabeth A. and Henry; his wife died in 1849. In 1850, he was married again to Josephine Huntzsinger, of Pennsylvania ; they have had eleven chil- dren ; deceased Margaret, Josiah, Eliza, Christiana, Walter ; living Jeremiah, Hannah, George, Ida. Peter and Sarah J. He has been no office-seeker, but has been

connected with schools. Mr. Singley settled on his present farm in 1861, and has been

here ever since. When he was married the first time, he was $5 in debt, and had no

resources. 

 

BENJAMIN SINGLEY, farmer; P. O. Manito ; was born in 1832, in Schuyl

kill Co., Penn., on a farm, and remained there until 1863 ; was engaged in farming and

handling timbers, when, in 1863, he came to Illinois, settled and engaged in working

for farmers by the day, $1 to $2, cutting hedge ; in 1869, he began farming on the

present farm of forty acres ; he has improved this little farm, and made it one very

desirable. He was married, in June, 1860, to S. Zimmerman ; they were blessed with

five children David R., Rebecca (deceased), Annie, Jacob and Lindy ; he has been no office-seeker, but has held the office of Postrnaster. Mr. Singley and wife belong to the

Egypt Church, Lutheran, and have been members ever since the organization of the same.

 

  1. N. SHANHOLTZER, miller, Manito; was born in Hampshire Co., Va., in 1841, and remained there, farming for his father, until 18 years old, when he moved to Licking Co., Ohio, and commenced farming; here he remained five years, when he went

West, and finally settled in Tazewell Co., 111.; he farmed for two years, afterward engaging

in milling, at Dillon, 111., for four years ; he then moved his machinery to Manito, 111., in 1870, and has been here ever since. This is the first and only mill in the township.

Mr. Shanholtzer manages his own business, and is doing splendid work for the public ; he is an active worker in the temperance movement ; has held office of Trustee of

Manito. He owns a beautiful lot and house, in addition to his mill. In 1868, he was

married to Marinda Rector, of Dillon, Tazewell Co., 111.; she died April 29, 1873. By

herjie had two children, Minnie Belle (deceased), and Miranda E. He was married, Jan. 23, 1879, to Mrs. S. C. Rector (Dean). She had one child Nellie Rector. 

 

HENRY A. SWEET, retired farmer; P. 0. Manito; was born July 12, 1818, on a farm near Mendon, Worcester Co., Mass.; when about a year old, he went with his parents to Connecticut, and livedvin that State until 21 ; when old enough, he began

clerking in a dry-goods store for Joseph W. Turpin, at Warehouse Point, Conn., after which he went to New York, and worked at carpentering for three years. In 1842,

he came to Ohio, and engaged in wagon-making and merchandising until 1849. In 1852, he sold out and came to Green Valley, 111., and farmed until 1860, then engaging

in grain business in Pekin, 111., for two years ; he then moved back to his farm in Tazewell Co., and stayed there until the spring of 1867, when he came to Manito, and

engaged in grain and lumber for one year. In 1868, he went into mercantile business,

and was burned out; was also express agent for three years. In 1870, he moved again

to his farm in Tazewell Co., and remained until 1875, when he returned to Manito, and

became station agent for one year. In .1876, he entirely lost his eyesight, which has

but slightly returned. Was married, in 1840, to Mary Weber, of Massachusetts, and

has eight children Henry, Mary, George W., Annette, Rowena, Fannie, Carrie, Eva,

and Leroy. He has held office in Ohio ; was Town Clerk and Trustee three years

in Tazewell Co., 111.; was Supervisor, Assessor, Collector, Commissioner of Highways,

Poormaster and Justice of the Peace fourteen years. In 1864, he took the census of

Tazewell Co.; was President of the Board of Trustees of Manito one year; he taught

school eleven months ; he has 90 acres, well improved, also a house and four lots in Manito.

 

  1. SCHOENEMAN, saddler and harness-maker, Manito ; was born in Germany in 1833 ; he remained there, engaged in harness-making, until 24, when he came to Peoria,

111., and engaged in business until 1861, when he enlisted in ‘Co. A, 2d Artillery, for three year,;, returning in 1864 to Peoria, and remaining a short time, and then moved

to New Orleans, where he was in the harness business for a year and a half. He was

married, while there, to Rosena Ruth, of New Orleans; in the latter part of 1865, they moved to Peoria, and shortly afterward to Manito, where he engaged in the harness

business, which he still continues. He owns 160 acres in Arkansas, three houses and

lots in Manito, and the property in which he carries on his business, all of which

they have earned by their own labor and management. He has held the office of

.Town Trustee for two terms ; has been no office-seeker ; has given strict attention to business by doing his own work, thus acquiring the confidence of the people. 

 

FREDERICK SCHNELLE, farmer; P. 0. Manito; was born in 1836 in Germany; when 15 years old, he came with his parents to New York, and worked with

them on a farm ; in 1854, he moved to Havana, 111., and worked at farming for H. H.

Marbold, in Menard Co., afterward working for Fred Looks in Mason Co., and next for John and James Wilson, of Tazewell Co. In I860, he began working on his present

farm of 240 acres, attained entirely by his own labor and management ; he has made

good improvements. Was married, in 1860, to Elizabsth Bahrens, of Germany, and

by her he had nine children George, Henry, Ettie, Fred, Katie, Willie and Catherine

(deceased). Mr. Schnelle makes a specialty of threshing wheat. He is Collector, and

has held the office three years ; he has been School Director twelve years, and Commissioner three years. 

 

JOHN THOMAS, farmer; P. 0. Forest City ; was born Sept. 19, 1815, in New

York, and remained there until his parents moved to Trumbull Co., Ohio, settling on a

farm, where he remained some ten years farming, on his grandfather’s farm ; his father

died when he was very young; in 1832, Mr. Thomas moved to Western Ohio and set- tled in Seneca Co., remaining there, farming, with his uncle; from Ohio he moved to Monroe Co., Mo., and engaged in farming for himself on some land which he had

bought. In 1836, he was married to Elizabeth Painter, of Mo. ; by her he had four

children Eliza E., Perry W., Samuel R., John W. ; Dec. 25, 1856, some time after the death of his wife, he was married to Parthena F. Cugdale, of Illinois , by her he

bad three children William, Edgar, Charles ; his second wife -died Aug. 7, 1876;

April 15, 1877, he was married to Miss Sutton. Mr. Thomas settled in Mason

Co. in 1853, on what is now the Caldwell farm ; in April, 1877, he bought the

present farm of twenty-one acres, and owns in all 140 acres ; he has held the offices of

School Trustee and Director ; he has been a member of the M. E. Church thirty-four

years ; his wife is also a member of the same church.

 

  1. A. WHITEFORD, farmer; P. 0. Manito; was born in 1842, in Medina Co.,

Ohio, on a farm, and remained there until he was 14 years old, at which time he came,

with his parents, to Illinois, and settled in Mason Co. on a farm which his father bought ; he remained there with his father until he began working in a machine shop

at Wadsworth, Medina Co., Ohio, and remained there engaged for three years. He married Julia Blanchard, of Gifford, Ohio, whose parents were from Connecticut; in 1871,

they settled on the present- farm of 160 acres, half of which they inherited, and half

they have obtained by their own management; with the improvements they have made

this farm presents a fine appearance. They have one child Flutie. 

 

  1. J. S. WALKER, physician and surgeon, Manito; was born on a farm in Shelby Co., Ind., Feb. 16, 1842, and remained there until 3 years old ; his father was

a farmer ; in 1845, the family moved by team, as was customary in those days, to Mason Co., 111., and settled on a farm which they bought ; here he attended school

during the winter until 1862, when he enlisted in Co. K, 85th I. V. I., and remained

in the service nearly two years ; he was promoted to Sergeant and afterward Orderly.

On his return from the war, he read medicine with Dr. J. F. Atkinson, of Lexington, Mo.,

for two years ; he at once began attending the St. Louis (Pope’s) Medical College,

which he continued for two years, during which he graduated, and, returning home,

began practicing medicine at Forest City ; this he continued for five years ; he then came to Manito, 111., where he now practices quite extensively, and with good success ; in the winter of 1878 he met with quite a misfortune, having his office, in connection with his drug store, burned, not even saving a book from the fire ; he

contracted quite a cold in his efforts to save his dwelling, which has almost confined him ; he anticipates going South to improve his health ; the people of this community will very much regret the loss of Dr. Walker; they will remember him as one

of the influential men of their community, and, as a physician, skillful and attentive

especially so in his treatment in surgery, which has been a good part of his large

practice; he has held the offices of School Treasurer and Trustee. He was married,

in 1870, to S. A. Bradley, of Chicago ; they had two children Alberto .and Eugene,

‘who died Sept. 20, 1878.

 

 

MANITO VILLAGE

(circa 1834-1880)
This village, situated on the P., P. & J. R. R., near the center of the northern boundary of the township, was surveyed and platted by James Boggs, Deputy County Surveyor, for James K. Cox, Robert M. Cox and William A. Langston, in 1858. Soon after the laying-out of the town, Hon. Hugh Fullerton, of Havana, acquired an interest for the influence exerted by him in procuring the location of the depot on the village site. The expectations of the proprietors must have been very great, and they possibly may have imagined that in the rearing of the first two or three buildings they beheld a miniature Chicago in embryo arising in their midst. One hundred and ten acres were laid out in blocks, streets and alleys.

Manito did not increase in growth very rapidly, until the close of the war,- in 1865. Egypt Station had been laid out in 1857, on the line of the railroad, about three-fourths of a mile southwest of where Manito now stands, and when the road went into operation, in 1859, from Pekin to Virginia, the contest for the mastery waxed warm. Egypt Station had the advantage in the beginning, in that she’ already had two or three stores and the post office, but Manito secured the location of the depot, and immediately the
scepter departed out of Egypt. The village of Spring Lake, which has already been mentioned as having been established by Col. Robert S. Moore, as early
as 1851, contributed to j;he upbuilding of Manito, by giving her business men and citizenship to swell the population of the newly begun village.

The farm residence of James K. Cox, erected in 1851, stands near the center of the business part of the village, east of the railroad, and may be easily recognized from
the fact that it stands at an angle of about forty-five degrees with the street fronting it. The first business house in the village was erected by James K. Cox, and was occupied early in 1860 by E. A. Rosher, as a general merchandise store. Mr. Rosher is still a citizen, and is the veteran merchant of the village. The second store in the villa.ge was kept by J. P. & Alexander Trent.A. M. Pollard, from Spring Lake, opened a grocery store in 1861. Langston & Havens, Rankin & Luckenburg, had each a general store quite early in its history. J. Mosher opened the first drug store in 1865 or 1866. In 1868, Smith, Hippen & Co., of Pekin, built an elevator, at a cost of $5,000. It has a capacity of 15,000 bushels, and 10,000 bushels cah be handled through it per day. It is operated under the personal supervision of Fred Knollhoff, who is a. member of the firm.

The firm of Smith, Hippen & Co. was the first in tho- place to purchase grain on an extensive scale. Their annual shipments range from 250,000 to 300,000 bushels. Previous to the building of the elevator, a Mr. Cranwill had bought grain for some years, at this point, and shipped in gunny sacks on flats. In 1876, James A. McComas built the Manito ele- vator, at a cost of $6,500. It had a capacity of 20,000 bushels, and, in annual shipments, ranged from 200,000 to 250,000 bushels, making the total annual
shipments from the village from 500,000 to 600,000 bushels. This was operated by McComas one year; afterward by different parties, and, in 1878,
Grier & Co., of Peoria, took charge of it. It was totally destroyed by fire on the 29th of May, 1879. The building contained 5,000 bushels of grain at the time of its destruction. The village of Manito is conceded to be the best grain point on the P., P. & J. R. R., from Peoria to Havana, except Pekin. The business trade of the village aggregates about $500,000 annually. Some of the statements in regard to the history of the village and the dates of their occurrence may not be, in every particular, correct, but this is owing to the fact that the village records have been twice destroyed by fire, and the dates given are those that have been furnished us by the citizens who took an active part in the proceedings.

The village was incorporated under the special act known as theSpringfield and Quincy Act, in 1866. The following named persons were chosen as members of the first B oard of Trustees : R. S. Eakin, Joe W. Brooks, Smith Mosher, Joe Cranwill and E. W. Crispell. The Board selected R.,S. Eakin, President; Joe W. Brooks, Treasurer, and Joe Cranwill, Clerk. Stephen W. Porter was first Police Magistrate. The village continued under this organization till 1875, when the charter was surrendered by vote, and it was re-organized under the general law for cities and villages. The present Board consists of W. B. Robison, Thomas Boon, Joel Cowan, J. S. Pollard, M. Lins and A. J. Roberts. The officers of the Board are : W. B. Robison, President ; J. S. Walker, Treasurer ; W. C. Hall, Clerk ; R. S. Eakin, Police Justice.

 

CHURCHES, LODGES, ETC.

The Methodist Church was erected in 1867. Among the early pastors, we find the names of Revs. Middleton, Sloan, Shagley and Goldsmith. Rev.
Sloan is remembered as the minister who was accustomed to make the entire round of his circuits on foot. Stephen W. Porter and family, Thomas Boon
and family, Father Nash, P. S. Trent and family, were among the early communicants of the Church. Elders Miller and Page, of the Campbellite order,
held meetings here at an early day, and had at one time an organization, but did not build a house of worship. The Catholic Church was built about 1870.
The building is a neat frame, patterned after the modern style of church buildings. They have a large and flourishing congregation. Sabbath schools are
regularly held at both churches.

In 1861, a petition was presented to the Post Office Department, praying for a removal of the post office from Egypt
Station to Manito, with a change in name to that of the village. The prayer of the petition was granted, and Smith Mosher was appointed first Postmaster.
He was succeeded in office by his brother, John Mosher, in 1865. In 1866, A. M. Pollard was appointed, and, in 1869, E. A. Kosher received the appointment, and still holds the position. In 1870, J. N. Shanholtzer erected a steam grist-mill in the village. This is the first and only mill ever built in the township. The cost of construction was about $6,000. It has two runs of stone, and is capable of turning out about eighteen or twenty barrels of flour per day. It has a fine run of custom,
and manufactures a first-class quality of flour.

Manito Lodge, A., F. and A. Masons, was organized under dispensation from Most Worshipful Deputy Grand Master J. M. Gorin, in 1865. In October, 1866, a charter was issued from the Grand Lodge, over the signatures of H. P. H. Bromwell, Most Worshipful Grand Master, and H. G. Reynolds,
Grand Secretary, to Henry A. Sweet, R. S. Eakin, A. G. H. Conover, John Thomas, Peter W. Gay, B. Ruthenburg, A. A. Griffin, Smith Mosher, Perry
W. Thomas, Hubbard Latham, Zachariah Miller and W. W. Pierce as charter members. Henry A. Sweet was appointed W. M. ; R. S. Eakin, S. W. ; A.
G. H. Conover. J. W. Regular meetings occur on the first and third Wednesdays of each month. In 1878, the lodge room was built by a joint-stock association. In the destructive fire which occurred December 22, 1878, the Lodge sustained heavy loss, the records, furniture and paraphernalia being entirely, consumed. At present it has a membership of twenty-two. The present officers are: R. S. Eakin, W. M.; W. B. Robison, S. W.; E. S. Starrett, J.W.; J. P. Cowan, Treasurer: Fred Knollhoff, Secretary ; J. C. Perkins, S. D.; R.W. Whiteford, J. D.; M. W. Rodgers, Tiler. A Lodge of I. 0. 0. F. was organized about the year 1871, but “has some time since ceased to exist.

The village at present has a population of about 600, and has four general merchandise stores, two groceries, two drug and notion stores, one harness-shop,
two boot and shoe shops, one hardware store and tin-shop, one millinery, notion and fancy goods establishment, three general blacksmithing and repair shops.
Drs. J. S. Walker and J. R. McCluggage are resident physicians, and deal out pills and powders for the pains and aches of the people, while William Maloney
deals out coal in quantities to suit the purchaser. The early settlers of the village were fond of playing practical jokes upon each other, and frequently did not scruple to tackle even strangers. Before corporate powers were conferred, it is stated that a man by the name of Moore came in and desired to start a saloon. He approached Joe Cranwill on the subject, and Joe furnished him the necessary license, for which he charged him the round sum of $25. Joe shoved the money down in his own pocket, and let the boys into the secret, and, as he spent most if not all of it in ” setting ’em up,” nothing was said about it, and it was many moons before Moore found out that
his license was a fraud, and that he had been tricked out of his money.

Many of the early denizens of the village will remember the days when ” High Cod Court,” as it was called, was in vogue. This was not a chartered institution, so far as we could learn, nor do we know that it had the sanction of the powers that be, ordained to meet in solemn conclave at Springfield biennially, in its establishment. But certain it is that it existed. Having charged some individual with an offense against the peace and dignity of the village, the Court would assemble and proceed to try the offender. The person presiding was dubbed the Hon. Judge Advocate, to whom all matters of difference between the lawyers for prosecution and defense were submitted, and from whose decision there was no appeal. Witnesses were called and examined, who were not expected to tell the truth any more than a witness of to-day is expected to testify to facts before a Congressional Investigating Committee. Indeed, the oath administered had a saving clause for the prosecution, couched in these words :

” And you furthermore swear that you will not tell the truth in the case now
pending, wherein,”

No matter how clearly the defendant might prove his innocence, conviction was sure to follow. The penalty was generally drinks for the crowd, and usually cost the accused about $1. But these days have long since passed away, and the citizens of Manito are as staid and sober-going people as are their neighbors. And yet the old citizens love to recount these days of fun and frolic, and, in imagination, live over again the scenes and incidents of their early manhood’s years. The name Manito was undoubtedly taken from the Indian word Manitou, though with just what significance it was applied to the village, we have no means of determining.

HISTORY of MANITO TOWNSHIP Part 3

(tomorrow is Village of Manito history)

Richard L. Porter, a son of Stephen W. Porter, was, so far as can be ascertained, the first child born of white parents in the township. His birth dates back to 1841. The first death of which we have any account given was that of William Herron, who has already been mentioned as the earliest settler, and whose grave is on the farm on which he first settled. The exact date of his death cannot be ascertained, though it must have occurred as early as 1844 or 1845. The first wedding was celebrated between Alexander Graves and Polly Ashmon. This happy event occurred in 1846, at the residence of the bride’s father, Zeno Ashmon, one of the early settlers. Outside of the village of Manito, but two houses of worship have been erected in the township. These are both in the eastern portion. One is a German Lutheran, or Lutheran Evangelical, and the other a German Methodist, or, as it is commonly designated, Albright. These churches were both built in 1869. Rev. Reisinger organized the Lutheran congregation in 1867, and was Pastor of the Church some years.

Rev. Henry Siering followed him,, and was’ the spiritual teacher of the congregation about five years, when he was succeeded by his brother, Rev. Hermann Siering, the present Pastor in charge. The Church has a membership of about fifty souls. They have regular services and a flourishing Sunday school. Of the Albright, or German Methodist, we were unable to learn any particulars other than that the society is in a prosperous condition, meeting regularly for worship, and having a Sunday school connected with it of fine interest.

No mill was ever built in the township save the one of recent date, built in the village, and to which reference will be made in its history. The P., P. & J. R. road enters the township near the center of the southern boundary of Section 6, and, passing through in a general northeastern direction, leaves it at the northeast corner of Section 21, thus giving to the township about five- miles of railroad. Among her citizens who have received political preferment at the hands of the citizens of the county, we may mention the names of John Pemberton and Matthew Langston. John Pemberton or ” Uncle Jackey,” as he is familiarly called, was chosen Associate Justice of the county in 1849.

The other members who assisted in holding down the seat of justice were Smith Turner,. County Judge, and Robert McReynolds, Associate. This position he held until 1853. He was also chosen to represent the county in the Lower House in quite an early day. It is said of him that, so great was his zeal to secure a successful issue of the campaign, whereby Mason County might be properly represented at the capital and a seat for himself secured in the Grand Council,, that he was found once or twice outside the limits of his county, earnestly engaged in trying to persuade the citizens of an adjoining county that he was the proper man to represent Mason County in the General Assembly, and that he would be grateful to them for their support. This he did, not with any design of obtaining his seat fraudulently, but simply from the fact that he did not recognize that he had passed beyond the limits of his own county.

A vote for and against township organization was taken November 11, 1861, to take effect April, 1862 The vote for adoption prevailed, and Hon. Lyman Lacy, of Havana, Maj. B. H. Gatton, of Bath, and Hon. Matthew Langston, of Manito, were chosen Commissioners to divide the county into townships. Mr. Langston was chosen first Supervisor of Manito Township, and held the office three terms in succession. In 1865, he was elected to the office of County Judge, and sat upon the judicial bench two years, at the end of which he resigned the position to devote himself more fully to his private affairs. In 1871 and 1872, he represented his county in the Lower House, at Springfield. Since then, he has devoted himself to the quiet pursuits of agricultural life. The township of Manito acquired its name from that of the village, which had been platted and recorded before the township was laid out. About twenty-five years ago, a tragedy occurred within her borders, and with a brief allusion to this we will close our township history.

In 1849 or 1850, Benjamin Alwood and family, consisting of his two sons Andrew Jackson and Hugh M. and two daughters, came from New Jersey and settled not
far southeast of the present village of Manito. The Alwood family were possessed of considerable means, and entered a large amount of land. From various causes, they soon became unpopular with their neighbors, whether justly or otherwise it is not our province to explain. The feeling of hatred grew into gigantic proportions, and finally culminate  in open demonstrations. As early as 1853 or 1854, a party in disguise waited upon the family and informed them that they must quit the neighborhood. The Alwoods informed them that they had come to stay, and did not propose to be frightened away. Not long afterward, a crop of wheat belonging to a man by the name of Hoyt was destroyed by fire. It was the generally received opinion, though it was by no means supported by positive proof, that the Alwoods had a hand in the burning, or, at least, had privy knowledge of the fact that it would occur. At any rate, this was made a pretext for destroying* their entire crop, by way, as it was said, of retaliation. This was followed up by the burning of their house and the shooting of Hugh M. and one of his sisters. The shooting in this instance did not, however, prove fatal. It so happened that at the burning of the wheat crop, Jack Alwood followed the parties, and succeeded in identifying some of them before he was discovered and forced to flee for his life. Legal proceedings were instituted, and a number of persons were indicted before the grand jury. Trials were appointed, but were postponed from time to time.

After the burning of their home, the Alwood family moved to Quiver Township and remained a short time. Returning, they built a hewed-log house and set about raising their crops. In the fall of 1856, while Jack Alwood was in his field, engaged in cutting up corn, he was shot by unknown parties, and instantly killed. This put an end to the prosecution of indictments against parties supposed to have been engaged in the destruction of their property. While this sad occurrence was deeply deplored by the better
class of citizens, it was nothing more than had been expected for months previous to its commission. He had been warned time and again that a continued attempt on his part to prosecute the indictments found would speedily lead him to an untimely grave. Let us hope that no similar occurrence may ever again darken the fair name of Manito Township and those of her citizens.

History of Manito Township part 2

MANITO TOWNSHIP PART 2

 

As early as 1850, we may add to the list of names already given, those of Jacob Jacobs and family, James Overton, Amos Ganson, William and Nult Green, and that of Col. Robert S. Moore. Jacobs was from New York and Overton from Kentucky. Amos Ganson settled in Egypt, southeast of Manito, and opened a blacksmith-shop, the first in the township. Col. Moore was originally from Kentucky. His parents settled in Sangamon (now Menard) County, in 1837. He was a soldier in the Mexican war, and participated in the battles of Vera Cruz, Cerro Gordo, etc. He located his land warrant in Manito Township, and became a resident of the county in April. 1849. He was the founder of the village of Spring Lake, a village established at the head of a small lake of the same name, near the boundary line between Tazewell and Mason Counties. He built a grain warehouse here as early as 1850 or 1851, and engaged in buying a shipping grain.

John Pemberton, Emery Hall, Matthew Langston, James M. Langston, M. W. Rodgers, James K. Cox and his son Robert M. Cox, Riley Morris and John 0. Randolph were citizens of Manito Township as early as 1851. Pemberton and Hall may possibly have come as early as 1849. The others all came in 1850, except the Coxes, who came in 1851. The Langstons came from Tennessee to that part of Morgan County afterward included within the limits of Scott County, and from Scott to Mason. Rodgers was from Kentucky. The Langstons and Rodgerses purchased the pre-emption rights and improvements of James McCoy, who had settled just across the line in that part of Tazewell County lying east of Manito Township. Matthew Langston had served in the war with Mexico, and laid his land warrant in Section 1, Manito Township. James M. Langston located in the same section, and Rodgers just north of the Langstons, on Section 35.

These were among the earliest settlements made on the prairie any considerable distance from the timber. Joseph Leese settled in the immediate neighborhood in the summer of 1850. He came from England,. and, after a residence of fourteen or fifteen years, sold out and returned to his native land. James K. Cox was a native of Virginia. In 1810, he emigrated to Tennessee, thence to Madison County, 111., in 1819. From there he removed to Morgan County in 1822, and, in 1851, to Mason County, locating on the site of the present village of Manito. During the years 1851, 1852 1853, 1854 and 1855, the prairie portion of the township settled up very rapidly, so that any attempt to give the names of settlers and the order of their coming in would be utterly vain. With this somewhat hasty glance at the early settlements of the township, we will proceed at once to note, somewhat,, the general appearance of the country as it appeared to the early pioneer, and some of the many difficulties with which he had to contend in procuring and establishing a home for himself and those dependent upon him.

GENERAL FEATURES, ETC.
When the first settlers came, the prairie, stretching back east from the river presented to the eye a grand and imposing scene. As far away as the eye could reach, the tall, blue- stem prairie grass was waving in the autumn breeze like a boundless sea. This, with the myriads of flowers of all hues and colors interspersed, awakened feelings of admiration which the finest landscape gardening fails to inspire. Nature had wrought a work which art can never equal. Many of the flowers planted and nourished by the hand of Nature’s God far surpassed in delicacy and beauty those of rarest culture of to-day. Every fall, the whole face of the country was swept over by fire, the flames of which would reach high up toward the heavens, then swoop down, reaching a hundred feet ahead, taking into their grasp the tinder-like material. None but those who have seen our prairie fires of twenty or thirty years ago can comprehend their magnificent grandeur. At the date of the earliest settlements, game of all kinds abounded in plenteous profusion. It was by no means an uncommon thing to see herds of deer ranging in numbers of from seventy-five to one hundred, and their course was plainly marked by the parting of the tall grass. Often times would they approach within rifle-distance of the pioneer’s cabin, and many the fine fat buck or juicy doe that paid the forfeit of its life for this act of forwardness. Oftentimes, too, would they put the husbandman’s labor to naught by completely destroying his patch of ” garden-sass “in a single night.

Wild geese, ducks, cranes and other water-fowls were here in abundance, and were not a little source of annoyance to the early settlers in the destruction of their crops. Sometimes, an entire field of wheat would be destroyed in a few days by flocks of geese, as the biting of the geese seemed to poison the tender plant and utterly destroy it. The wily wolf and artful fox came in for their share of depredations, in robbing hen-roosts, pigsties and sheep-cotes ; and what a wolf didn’t know about howling wasn’t worth knowing. When Abel Maloney, who has already been mentioned as one of the earliest settlers, first came, he brought with him his two oldest boys, William and John, together with some stock. After erecting his log cabin, he returned to Menard County for his companion and the rest of the family. The boys were left to take care of
the house and look after the stock. William, who now resides in the village of Manito, thus relates his experience :

” Soon after my father left us, a continuous rain set in, by which the Sangamon and it tributaries were so swollen that he was unable to return until after the lapse of four long weeks. During that period, we looked upon no human face save that of each other. At night, we would take the geese, ducks and chickens, along with the dogs, into the cabin and securely bar the doors, preparatory to trying to sleep. As soon as the twilight began to deepen, the wolves began their orgies. Between the squealing of the hogs and the howling of the wolves, night was rendered hideous and sleep seemed to be forever divorced from our eyelids. Indeed, we sometimes feared, from the vigor with which they howled around our cabin and scratched at its rude door, that they might affect an entrance and make mincemeat out of our poor little bodies ere the coming of the gray morning in the east should force them again into their secret coverts. Not a hog was left out of the number brought, on my father’s return. You may imagine we welcomed the old folks right heartily when they did put in an appearance.”

Coon Grove was so named from the vast number of coons found there in an early day. The same authority states that, when they came in 1841, “the woods were full of ’em.” Many of the trees were hollow, and had beside them Indian ladders (saplings with the limbs cut off some distance from the body), and holes chopped into the trees evidently the work of the Indians, made in their attempts to catch “old Zip Coon.” At certain seasons of the year, Mr. Maloney states that they were wont to go, about sunset, and drive them from the fields like droves of sheep. They were very destructive to crops near the grove. While the early pioneers of this section were exempt from many of the” graver difficulties with which the settlers of other portions who had preceded them by a decade or more of years were forced to contend, yet theirs was by no means a life of ease and luxury. Homes were to be provided, farms to be made, and implements necessary to theirsuccessful cultivation to be procured. Money with them was scarce, for, generally speaking, they were men of limited means, who had left the more densely populated portions of our own country to try their fortunes in the great and growing West. Their milling was done, oftentimes, fifteen to eighteen miles away.

Their principal trading was done at Pekin, Mackinaw, Delavan and Havana. At these points, they sold their products and laid in their supplies of dry goods and groceries. In times of high-water, they would take their grists to Spring Lake by ox-team, and from thence in skiffs down through the lake, up the river, and thence, through Copperas Creek, to Utica, in Fulton County, rowing a distance of eight or ten miles. If a plow needed repairing, it must needs be carried to Pekin, Mackinaw or Havana. It took all summer to raise a crop, and all winter to deliver it. If we may credit the statements of their descendants, the early settlers of this section were not men of deep religious convictions. Although the invincible circuit-rider was among them at an early day, we. hear of no general religious awakening until comparatively a recent date. An unfailing indication that the Sabbath Day had dawned, was to see the women equipped with fishing-tackle, the men with their guns and accouterments, all parties moving out headed toward Spring Lake. Here the day was passed in pleasure seeking and merry-making.

Sometimes the men would stake off a race-course, and, attired in a garb which was rather an abridgment of a Hottentot’s costume, would indulge in foot-racing. We are by no means to conclude from this that they were savage in their dispositions, for none more hospitable to the stranger, or the one in need, could be found than the early settlers of Manito. It was simply their way of having sport. Fighting and quarreling were almost unknown amongst them ; and if a friendly fisticuff sometimes occurred, the combatants generally left the battle-field good friends. They did not forget nor neglect the early educational interests of their children. Consequently,we find them at an early day in their history building a schoolhouse, and maintaining a school by subscriptions.

The first schoolhouse in the township was erected near the site of the present residence of William Starritt, in Coon Grove. It was constructed of round logs, notched down at the corners, and was chinked and daubed after the approved pioneer style. The building was sixteen feet square, had one window of three lights, 8×10, and a door of entrance. It may have been a little dark for purpos es of study on a cloudy day, but it was certainly admirably adapted to weak eyes. It was covered with clapboards, and when it rained drops came down about as well inside as out, though not quite as fast. Stephen W. Porter is given as the first Solon who directed the footsteps of the aspiring youth of Manito up the rugged steeps of science.

The second school building was a hewed-log house, erected in the limits of the present village of Manito. Miss Adeline Broderick and Mrs. Rachel Ott were among the first teachers in this house. At present the township has seven school buildings, each a neat frame, supplied with the more modern improvements for the comfort of the pupils. From the Treasurer’s last report to the County Superintendent, we find the principal of the township fund to be $2,963 ; amount of tax levied. $1,925 ; value of school property, $2,100 ; number of scholars under twenty-one (including color), 178 ; between six and twenty-one, 195 ; males between six and twenty-one, 130 ; females, 139 ; highest wages paid male teachers, $50 ; highest paid females, $55 ; ‘total amount paid for school purposes, $1,316.50 ; males between twelve and twenty-one unable to read and write, 2 ; cause, neglect of parents and willful neglect of child.

EARLY POST OFFICES, PREACHERS, DOCTORS, ETC.
The first post office established in Manito Township was kept by Col. R. S. Moore, at his residence, on what is now known as the P. W. Gay farm. This was established in 1851, on the route leading from Havana to Delavan. It was called Pilot Hill Post Office, after a high hill on the route, some three or four miles northwest of the point at which it was kept. A year or two later, it was moved farther south, toward Havana, to the residence of John Pemberton, who was the second Postmaster. At a still later date, it was taken to Berkstresser’s store, at a point called Egypt Station, and was re-christened with the name of Egypt Station Post Office. Finally, on the establishment of the village of Manito, and the consequent overthrow of Egypt Station, it was removed to Manito, and the name of the office was changed to that of the town.

Ministers, in connection with the Methodist, Baptist and Presbyterian Churches, came among the people in an early day, to preach to them the word of life. Meetings were held at the homes of the settlers. Rev. Caldwell, a Methodist minister, was, perhaps, the first who had regular stated appointments. The Baptist and Presbyterian brethren were not far behind him in point of time. At a later date, the ubiquitous Methodist itinerant, Peter Cartwright, was in their midst. He was present in 1852 or 1853, and conducted a camp-meeting at Walnut Grove, at which there was a great awakening among the people. Many were happily converted, and remained faithful workers in the ranks of the Church throughout the remainder of their lives. As late as the spring of 1865, he preached in the village of Manito, in the upper story of the building now occupied by Messrs. Burnett & Perrill as a general merchandise and drug store.

Dr. John Allen, who resided near Mcllarry’s mill, in what is now Quiver Township, was the first practitioner who sought to alleviate their aches and pains. Dr. Mastiller came at quite an early day. He was a student in the office of Dr. Allen. Dr. Holton, who located at Spring Lake, in Tazewell County, was also among the earlier practitioners. The first resident physician in the township was Dr. John B. Meigs, a young man who came in 1855 or 1856, and who still resides in the village of Manito. He came from Macoupin County. Others have followed, too numerous to mention.